LibGuides: English Studies: Theses and Dissertations

Quick Links

Directory of Open Access Repositories (openDOAR)

Tips

To find electronic versions of master and doctoral theses submitted to the Department of English Studies since 2005: go to the library catalogue and enter English Studies as keyword; in the window to the right, change the View Entire Collection default to UNISA Theses and Dissertations, and click search.

Dissertations are useful for benchmarking, generating reading lists and identifying research opportunities.

South African

Current and Completed Research This link opens in a new window
The Current and Completed Research database provides information on approximately 150,000 South African current and completed research projects, including theses and dissertations. Covers all fields of science in South Africa since 1919.
UnisaETD: electronic theses and dissertations This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of theses and dissertations submitted since 2003 in electronic format to the University of South Africa. The copyright of the items in this collection belongs to the University of South Africa.

International

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Global This link opens in a new window
The largest single repository of graduate dissertations and theses Includes 3.8 million works – grows by 100K each year International scope – deposits from universities in 88 countries. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress,
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
This database provides fast and convenient access to the dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many of these are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.