The Unisa Library contains a wealth of resources that can be used to find information to support research. The resources include, books, articles, theses and dissertations, reference works and e-newspapers.
The library subscribes to a discovery tool called Summon. It enables you to improve your discovery of academic resources by allowing you to search all our resources using one friendly interface.
Many of the databases contains a combination of full-text and bibliographic references.
If the full-text of the article is not available from the database, make a printout of the bibliographic references and then use the e-journal finder to see if the journal that the article was published in is available in electronic format in one of our other databases.
Should the journal not be available electronically use the library catalogue to request the artice.
The following are links to pre-determined keyword searches and these are self-updating. After clicking on each link, a list of articles will come up containing keywords covering the theme. Not all the articles may be relevant. Select those articles which you think are applicable to your approach to the topic. Select the pdf option for downloading or email the pdf article to yourself the email function. When emailing, please ensure that the box next to “pdf as a separate attachment” is √
These links are from EBSCO databases. Use similar keyword combinations to search the other databases.
Full text articles and references to articles on particular topics may be found using the subject databases. Possible keywords and keyword combinations may be:
Please see the box below Pre-determined keyword searches for further ideas on keyword combinations.
The e-Journal finder can be used when you know the name of a publication. Enter the name of the journal, e-book etc in the Title begins with search box and then click on Search.
The results will bring out the journal and in which databases it is held. This allows you to search the journal for more articles by using the relevant database. Otherwise just insert the the title of the article within the search within this publication search box to go directly to the article.
Google Scholar is useful for a quick overview of what has been written on a topic. For best results use the advanced search option and use keyword combinations or phrases. Locate articles which are not freely available by entering the title of the journal in the eJournal finder in the box below.
Google Scholar is best used in conjunction with the Unisa Library's e-Journal Finder
For example, where you are prompted to submit payment for an article.
See the box "Find the full-text journal article" on this page