LibGuides: Ancient Near Eastern Studies: Journal Articles

Quick Links

Tips

Many of the databases contains a combination of full-text and bibliographic references.

If the full-text of the article is not available from the database, make a printout of the bibliographic references and then use 'Find e-journals and e-books' to see if the journal that the article was published in is available in electronic format in one of our other databases.

Should the journal not be available electronically use the library catalogue to request the article.

Subject Databases

Full text articles and references to articles on particular topics may be found using the subject databases.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
ArtStor Image Library This link opens in a new window
This platform will retire on 1 August 2024.
Artstor features millions of high-quality images and media from some of the world’s top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else. Artstor’s collections also include Open Access collections from partner museums freely available to all.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
This the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. overage started in 1949. In ATLASerials, full text is provided for more than 380,000 electronic articles and book reviews from more than 220 journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
BAS Library (Biblical Archaeology Society) This link opens in a new window
Publications covering archaeology in the biblical lands presenting the latest discoveries and controversies in archaeology with breathtaking photography and informative maps and
Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library Biblical Texts This link opens in a new window
Together with the Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library Non-Biblical Texts, the Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library Biblical Texts form the Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library. This library contains the entire corpus of Dead Sea Scrolls texts. This online version presents a complete Hebrew transcription and English translation of the Biblical and Non-Biblical texts in the Dead Sea Scrolls corpus, together with high-resolution images.
Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library Non-Biblical Texts This link opens in a new window
Together with the Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library Non-Biblical Texts, the Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library Biblical Texts form the Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library. This library contains the entire corpus of Dead Sea Scrolls texts. This online version presents a complete Hebrew transcription and English translation of the Biblical and Non-Biblical texts in the Dead Sea Scrolls corpus, together with high-resolution images.
EBSCOhost (All databases) This link opens in a new window
Choose databases according to your research topic, e.g. Academic Search Premier, ATLA, Historical abstracts, Humanities etc
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.
Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) This link opens in a new window
The Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) holds the largest available collection of references in Egyptological literature and is updated nearly every day. It includes the records and abstracts from Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB, 1947-2001), combined with Bibliographie Altägypten (BA, 1822-1946), the Aigyptos database with keywords, and more than 30,000 further items. Coverage is from 1822 to the present.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Includes over 200,000 articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as over 19,000 images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection (all citation indexes) This link opens in a new window
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Find course reading material/e-reserves

Find e-reserves (prescribed and recommended articles) for your module codes

Find course reading material

Ancient Near Eastern Studies: Journal Articles

Quick Links

Tips

Subject Databases

Find course reading material/e-reserves

Google scholar