Skip to main content

How to search: IEEE

This guide will show you how to search in the different Unisa Library resources to find relevant information for your research needs

Advanced and Command Searching Tips for IEEE Explore

IEEE Xplore

IEEE Xplore provides web access to more than 3.5-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.

The content in IEEE Xplore comprises over 160 journals, over 1,200 conference proceedings, more than 2,500 technical standards, over 1,000 eBooks, and over 300 courses. Approximately 25,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month.

Advanced Searching Tips

  1. Click Advanced Search under the Global Search box.

    IEEE Xplore displays the Advanced Search Options page, with the Advanced Keyword/Phrases tab selected.
  2. Enter your search query using either the structured advanced search or command search. When you click Search, IEEE Xplore displays the results of your search.
  3. Select the number of titles listed on the page using the Results per page drop-down menu, and specify how the titles are sorted using the Sort by drop-down Menu.
  4. View multiple pages of results by using the First and Last links at the top and bottom of the list of titles.
  1. View the abstract of an article on the search results page by clicking Reveal Abstract.
  2. Display the abstract page by clicking the document title or the ... View more link.
  3. For articles in publications to which you subscribe, view full text by clicking PDF.

The subscription identifier icon Subscription Identifier Icon indicates articles where you have access to full text.

 

The Advanced Keyword/Phrases tab on the Advanced Search Options page provides a structured way for you to perform a more complex search. Follow this procedure to perform an Advanced Search:

  1. Click Advanced Search under the Global Search box.
  2. In the Advanced Search area, select Metadata Only or Full Text & Metadata for your search.
    Note: Users with an IEEE Account can set a search preference to search metadata only or full text & metadata. You must be logged in for this preference to be applied to your searches.
  3. Click in the first text box and enter a keyword. The keyword can be a subject term, last name, or phrase. If you are unsure of the spelling, you can use the *wildcard.
    IEEE Xplore searches for items regardless of capitalization. See Entering Search Keywords for additional rules governing entry of search keywords.
  4. Limit your search by selecting a specific field in the drop-down menu next to the text box. The menu lists all the searchable fields in the database records.
    Advanced Search Drop Down
    You can choose to search on a particular field, or on metadata only or full text and metadata as selected in step 2. However, you cannot choose to search for some keywords in metadata only and other keywords in full text and metadata.
  5. To include additional keywords or phrases in the search query, enter search text and select fields for the other search query boxes as necessary. Define the relationship between the query boxes by selecting search operators from the drop-down menus between the text boxes. For example: Advanced Search Example
    The search operators available in the drop-down menus are:
    1. AND: Searches for records that meet the two conditions it joins.
    2. OR: Searches for records that meet either or both of the two conditions it joins.
    3. NOT: Searches for records that do not meet the specified condition.
  6. Limit your search results by adjusting the search options. For example, you can:
    • Select one or more publisher to search
    • Select one or more content types to search
    • Select one or more topics to search
    • Specify the publication years to search
  7. Click Search. IEEE Xplore looks through the database records and presents a list of results matching your query. The subscription identifier icon Subscribed Content Identifier indicates articles where you have access to full text.
  8. If more titles containing the keyword exist than appear on the first page, click the First and Last links or the page numbers at the top and bottom of the list, to view more pages of titles.
    Pagination

Command Searching Tips

The Advanced Search Options page enables you to enter a free-form search query. In command search, you can specify and perform more complex searches than you can using structured advanced search. You can join up to 15 search terms, use proximity operators, and exert more control over the order in which expressions are evaluated.

To access the Command Search page, click on Advanced Search under the Global Search box and select the Command Search tab.

  1. In the Command Search area, click in the text box. If desired, limit your search by using the Data Fields drop-down menu to select a field or by entering the field name in quotation marks followed by a colon (for example, "Authors":).

    IEEE Xplore looks for a keyword in all fields (metadata) unless you limit the search to specific fields or select the Full Text & Metadata radio button.
  2. If you specified a field name, enter a value for the field (for example, "Authors":jones). Otherwise, enter a keyword. The keyword can be a subject term, name, or phrase. If you are unsure of the spelling, you can use the * wildcard. If you want to search specifically for a phrase, enclose the phrase in quotation marks (for example, "Document Title":"web services" finds documents with the exact phrase web services in the title). If you enter a phrase but do not enclose it in quotation marks, IEEE Xplore uses the AND operator to search for the keywords (for example, "Document Title":web services finds documents with the word web and the word services in the title either singularly or as a phrase).

    IEEE Xplore searches for items regardless of capitalization. See Entering Search Keywords for additional rules governing entry of search keywords.
  3. Combine multiple search expressions as needed. Use the Operators drop-down menu to define the relationship between search expressions, using the following syntax:

    search_expression <operator> search_expression

    where search_expression is "field name":value or keyword (including keyword 1 keyword 2 ... keywordn or "keyword phrase") and <operator> is an operator listed in the Operators drop-down menu. If you choose to type the operator, use all capital letters (AND, OR, NOT, NEAR, ONEAR).

    For example, the following search expressions look for either the phrase radio frequency identification or the abbreviation rfid in document titles:

    Command Search Example

    Note: You can not use parentheses to nest search terms when using the OR operator within a data field. Thus, "Document Title":("radio frequency identification" OR rfid) is not a valid search; the valid search is "Document Title":"broadband wireless access" OR "Document Title":bwa. You can then use parentheses to nest this search string. For example, ("Document Title":"radio frequency identification" OR "Document Title":rfid) AND scheduling.
  4. Click Search. IEEE Xplore looks through the database records and presents a list of results matching your query. The subscription identifier icon indicates articles where you have access to full text.
  5. If more titles containing the keyword exist than appear on the first page, click the First and Last links at the top and bottom of the list, to view more pages of titles.
    Pagination

Summary of Data Fields

Data fields identify specific parts of a document record. By limiting a search to a specific field (or metadata), you can reduce the time it takes to process the search and produce more targeted results. Here are the data fields you can use in advanced search and/or command search.

Note: In Command Search, remember to enclose the field name in quotation marks, and use a colon to separate the field name from the field value you want to search for; for example, "Document Title":rfid.

Abstract Brief summary or statement of the contents of a journal article, conference paper, standard, book, book chapter, or course.
Accession Number Sequential number assigned by INSPEC to each record or volume as it is added to the database.
Article Number Unique record number assigned to an article. For example in the following URL, the article number is 5487489:
http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/xpl/freeabs_all.jsp?arnumber=5487489
Author Affiliation Institutional affiliation (university, government agency, corporation, etc.) of the first author listed in the article.
Author Keywords Terms provided by the author which describe the topics or subjects of the document.
Authors Name of the author or authors listed in the document.
Document Title Title of an individual document (journal article, conference paper, standard, eBook chapter, or course).
DOI Digital Object Identifier. A unique character string to identify an individual object such as a journal article or conference paper.
Full Text & Metadata Includes the full-text of a document as well as all of the other fields.
IEEE Terms Keywords assigned to IEEE journal articles and conference papers from a controlled vocabulary created by the IEEE.
Index Terms Combined field which allows users to search the Author Keywords, DOE Terms, IEEE Terms, INSPEC Terms, Mesh Terms, and PACS Terms.
INSPEC Controlled Terms Keywords assigned to articles from a controlled vocabulary of over 10,000 scientific terms created by INSPEC.
INSPEC Non-controlled Terms Additional keywords assigned to articles which describe the topics or subjects of a document. These terms are not part of the INSPEC controlled vocabulary and include new and emerging concepts.
ISBN International Standard Book Number. A number used to uniquely identify a book or non-serial.
ISSN International Standard Serial Number. An 8-digit number used to uniquely identify a periodical publication (journal or serial).
Issue Number of the journal issue in which the article was published.
Metadata Includes the abstract, index terms, and bibliographic citation data (such as document title, publication title, author, etc.).
MeSH Terms Medical Subject Headings defined by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). MeSH terms are integrated into IEEE Xplore for 14 IEEE biomedical-related titles.
Parent Publication Number Number for the parent publication. This can be used to locate articles within a serial conference.
Publication Number Unique record number assigned to a publication. For example in the following URL which links to the publication home page for IEEE Security & Privacy, the publication number is 8013:
http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/xpl/RecentIssue.jsp?punumber=8013
Publication Title Title of a publication (journal, conference, or book).
Standard Number Standard designation (e.g., IEEE 802.11u-2011). Standard designations are allocated by the Administrator of the IEEE-SA Standards Board New Standards Committee (NesCom).
Standard Dictionary Terms Terms included in the glossary of a standard and the IEEE Standards Dictionary.
Topic One of the 16 topics listed in the By Topic menu under Browse (Aerospace, Bioengineering, etc). Topic names do not have to be exact. For example, entering computing as the field value will find all documents under the topic Computing & Processing (Hardware/Software).

Summary of Search Operators

Search operators are elements that express relationships between search terms or search expressions, or that otherwise modify a query. In structured advanced searching, you can use the logical operators AND, OR, and NOT. In command searching, you can use these operators plus NEAR (for unordered proximity searches) and ONEAR (for ordered proximity searches), as described here.

Operator Syntax Find Results That...
AND x AND y

Match both expressions x and y

Example: "wireless sensor network" AND security

Finds articles with both the phrase wireless sensor network and the word security

OR x OR y

Match either expression x or y or both

Example: REV OR "renewable energy vehicle"

Finds articles with either the word REV or the phrase renewable energy vehicle

NOT NOT x Do not match expression x
x NOT y

Match expression x but not y

Example: gasoline NOT diesel

Finds articles that include the word gasoline but that do not include the word diesel

NEAR x NEAR/# y

Match expression x within # words of y (x can appear before or after y)

Example: implantable NEAR/3 cardiac

Finds articles with the word implantable within three words of cardiac; cardiac can come before or after implantable

ONEAR x ONEAR /# y

Match expression x before and within # words of y

Example: implantable ONEAR/3 cardiac

Finds articles with the word implantable within three words of cardiac; but implantable must come before cardiac