eResources News @ Unisa Library

Compendex, short for COMPuterized ENgineering inDEX, is the most comprehensive engineering literature database in the world. Hosted on Engineering Village (EiVillage), it serves as a powerful gateway for researchers, students, and professionals seeking high-quality, peer-reviewed engineering content.

What Makes Compendex Stand Out?

• Unmatched Coverage: With millions of indexed documents from 77 countries across 190 engineering disciplines, Compendex offers a truly global perspective.
• Diverse Content: It includes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patents, government reports, and more.
• Precision Indexing: Every document is meticulously indexed using the Engineering Index Thesaurus, ensuring accurate and relevant search results.
• High Quality & Reliability: Users can trust the completeness and accuracy of the information, making it ideal for academic research, product development, and innovation.

Compendex helps Researchers for literature reviews, technical insights, and staying updated. 

It helps Students for academic projects, theses, and learning about engineering trends and 

Industry Professionals for innovation tracking, competitive intelligence, and technical problem-solving.

You can access the resource on A-Z list or here

GEOBASE is a premier database for geoscience, environmental science, and related disciplines, available through Engineering Village (EiVillage). It offers researchers, engineers, and environmental professionals access to a vast repository of indexed literature that spans the globe.

GEOBASE is a multidisciplinary database that covers:

• Geology & Geophysics
• Environmental Sciences
• Geochemistry
• Geomechanics
• Human and Physical Geography
• Oceanography and Hydrology

It includes peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and books, making it a vital tool for anyone working in earth sciences or environmental engineering.

Key Features of GEOBASE on EiVillage

• Global Reach: GEOBASE indexes content from over 2,000 journals and publications from more than 60 countries, ensuring a truly international perspective.
• Deep Indexing: Articles are indexed with detailed metadata, including controlled vocabulary and subject-specific terms, enabling precise and efficient searches.
• Integrated Search Tools: Engineering Village enhances GEOBASE with advanced search capabilities—Boolean operators, proximity searches, and filters by geographic region, publication type, and more.

• Cross-Database Access: Users can search GEOBASE alongside other databases like Compendex and Inspec, gaining interdisciplinary insights.

  You can access the resources on the A-Z list or here: 

The International Encyclopedia of Comparative Law Online offers unparalleled access to in-depth analyses of the legal systems of over 150 countries. Developed by an international team of renowned scholars, this resource is essential for:

• Legal researchers and academics
• Practicing lawyers and judges
• Policy makers and government advisors
• Students of international and comparative law

Key Features:

• Covers private and public law, including constitutional law, contracts, torts, family law, commercial law, and more
• Written by over 400 leading scholars from around the world
• Continuously updated with new volumes and insights
• Accessible online via Brill’s user-friendly digital platform

The International Encyclopedia of Comparative Law Online is a gateway to understanding law in a global context.

You can access the resource from the Unisa Library A-Z list or here