eResources News @ Unisa Library - LibGuides at University of South Africa (UNISA)

eResources News @ Unisa Library

Emerald launched new Emerald Insight platform - 23 July 2025

07/24/2025

The new platform will consolidate all Emerald Publishing content, including materials from the Institute of Civil Engineers (ICE) Publishing portfolio.

The Emerald Insight platform will serve as a centralized access point for over 400 journals, 7,000 books, 3,000 case studies and a growing corpus of open access content.

Read the original press release.

Business & Management, Interdisciplinary

Highlighted database: Directory of Open Access Journals - DOAJ

04/03/2025

Dorette Snyman

The Directory of Open Access Journals, or DOAJ, is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world. These high quality journal content is available online for everyone to read and benefit from.

The DOAJ is a vital part of the global open access infrastructure, and the criteria have become a gold standards for open access Publishing.

The DOAJ includes 160 South African open access journals and more than 500 journal titles from other African countries.

The DOAJ can be accessed from the Unisa Library's A-Z list or here:

Directory of Open Access Journals

A unique and extensive index of diverse open access scholarly peer-reviewed journals from around the world. Includes South African and African journals.

Interdisciplinary

Subjects

Business & Management

Engineering

Interdisciplinary

Law

By Month

October 2025

July 2025

April 2025

Recent Posts

Compendex on Ei Village

Compendex, short for COMPuterized ENgineering inDEX, is the most comprehensive engineering literature database in the world. Hosted on Engineering Village (EiVillage), it serves as a powerful gateway for researchers, students, and professionals seeking high-quality, peer-reviewed engineering content.What Makes Compendex Stand Out?Unmatched Coverage: With millions of indexed documents from 77 countries across 190 engineering disciplines, Compendex offers a truly global perspective.Diverse Content: It includes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patents, government reports, and more.Precision Indexing: Every document is meticulously indexed using the Engineering Index Thesaurus, ensuring accurate and relevant search results.High Quality & Reliability: Users can trust the completeness and accuracy of the information, making it ideal for academic research, product development, and innovation.Compendex helps Researchers for literature reviews, technical insights, and staying updated. It helps Students for academic projects, theses, and learning about engineering trends and Industry Professionals for innovation tracking, competitive intelligence, and technical problem-solving. You can access the resource on A-Z list or here ...

GeoBase on Ei Village

GEOBASE is a premier database for geoscience, environmental science, and related disciplines, available through Engineering Village (EiVillage). It offers researchers, engineers, and environmental professionals access to a vast repository of indexed literature that spans the globe. GEOBASE is a multidisciplinary database that covers:Geology & GeophysicsEnvironmental SciencesGeochemistryGeomechanicsHuman and Physical GeographyOceanography and HydrologyIt includes peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and books, making it a vital tool for anyone working in earth sciences or environmental engineering. Key Features of GEOBASE on EiVillage Global Reach: GEOBASE indexes content from over 2,000 journals and publications from more than 60 countries, ensuring a truly international perspective.Deep Indexing: Articles are indexed with detailed metadata, including controlled vocabulary and subject-specific terms, enabling precise and efficient searches.Integrated Search Tools: Engineering Village enhances GEOBASE with advanced search capabilities—Boolean operators, proximity searches, and filters by geographic region, publication type, and more.Cross-Database Access: Users can search GEOBASE alongside other databases like Compendex and Inspec, gaining interdisciplinary insights.You can access the resources on the A-Z list or here: ...

International Encyclopedia of Comparative Law Online

The International Encyclopedia of Comparative Law Online offers unparalleled access to in-depth analyses of the legal systems of over 150 countries. Developed by an international team of renowned scholars, this resource is essential for:Legal researchers and academicsPracticing lawyers and judgesPolicy makers and government advisorsStudents of international and comparative lawKey Features:Covers private and public law, including constitutional law, contracts, torts, family law, commercial law, and moreWritten by over 400 leading scholars from around the worldContinuously updated with new volumes and insightsAccessible online via Brill’s user-friendly digital platformThe International Encyclopedia of Comparative Law Online is a gateway to understanding law in a global context.You can access the resource from the Unisa Library A-Z list or here...

Emerald launched new Emerald Insight platform - 23 July 2025

Emerald Publishing has launched an updated version of its Emerald Insight platform. The new platform introduces a redesigned interface with improved accessibility, usability and sustainability for a global academic audience. The new platform will consolidate all Emerald Publishing content, including materials from the Institute of Civil Engineers (ICE) Publishing portfolio. The Emerald Insight platform will serve as a centralized access point for over 400 journals, 7,000 books, 3,000 case studies and a growing corpus of open access content. Read the original press release. ...