Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following newspapers are available on microfilm in the Audio-visual Collection on level 4 of the Main Library:
- Argus (Cape)
- Cape Times
- Natal Mercury
- New Nation
- Pretoria News
Contact number : +27 12 429-3209
Search South African news articles according to subjects
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2016 This link opens in a new window
This resource provides a complete run of The Financial Times since its first publication in 1988 up to 2016. The full content is provided, including articles, advertisements and market listings. The Financial Times has chronicled the critical financial and economic events that shaped the world reporting on topics such as economics and business, energy, industry, international politics, personal finance and the arts.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
he Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2014. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.
Read by both world leaders and the general public, The Times has offered readers in-depth, award-winning, objective coverage of world events since its creation in 1785 and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication.