Skip to Main Content

Ask a Librarian: IT Settings & Troubleshooting

Contact us

Who do I contact for IT related problems

Please include the following information:

  • Your Name
  • Student number / staff number
  • Phone Number
  • Whether you are working from your home or work computer
  • If you are working from home, describe what kind of access you have (phone modem, DSL, etc.)
  • Indicate the name(s) of the database(s) or functions on the Library Catalogue that you could not access
  • Include any other details that could be helpful, for example, the wording of the error messages

How do I configure my workstation to access the Library's electronic resources and services?

Consult the Unisa Library Off-campus workstation settings guidelines for important information about the required hardware, software and settings for optimal access to the Library's electronic resources. Please note that the configurations of individual computers, mobile phones and/or Internet browsers may affect the ability to access resources at full functionality.

Library PIN

You will need a Library PIN

  • to be able to use Unisa Library’s self-checkout machines
  • to view your Library record 
  • to submit requests via the Library app
  • if you are a special member of the Library and you are not able to log in via the JASIG CAS Single Sign-on screen. 

For instructions on how to create and change your PIN, visit  the Library Technology Support guide

Access issues

Most of the systems and applications access issues can usually be fixed by clearing your cache and browser cookies.

Another way to check if your cache and browser cookies are the cause of the problems is to open up a "private browsing" or "incognito mode" window, which allows your current browser cookies to be ignored. Firewalls and popup blockers can also cause you to receive error messages when using the Library databases. Disable popup blockers while you are using our databases. You can always go back and enable them again for general Internet use. See the section further below on Web Browsers for more information.

If your encompassed error still persists contact us at: lib-help@unisa.ac.za

Enabling cookies

Sometimes, when trying to connect to our databases, you may get one of the following errors:

  1. "Reason: -- unrecognized error. Please contact technical support"
  2. Cookies are not enabled

Please enable cookies on your browser, by following these steps.

 

Authentication error

When login in to MyLibrary account, or via the Single Sign On in order to access electronic resources  ​

                                                       

                                                   

 

You may get the following error after providing your student number and myUnisa password: 

 

            

       

 

This may indicate either that your Library record has expired or that you are not yet registered as a student. If you have registered again, it usually takes up to 24 hours for the Library system to get your updated record from the Unisa Student System. You must therefore test your access again a day or two after your registration.  

If the above error persists, email us at: lib-help@unisa.ac.za

Google Scholar setup

Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes and provides access to scholarly literature across many disciplines. In order to be recognised by Google Scholar as being affiliated to the University of South Africa, and its subscription resources, you must change your Google Scholar preferences by doing the following:

Once you get to Google Scholar (https://scholar.google.com) choose Settings from the top right:            

 

                                     Screen capture: Google settings

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Choose the Library links option on the left.

Screen capture: Library links option

In the Library links search box, do a keyword search by typing either of these keywords: Unisa, Unisa Library, University of South Africa.

 

Screen capture: search for Unisa Library

Check the box for Unisa Library

Screen capture: check box for Unisa Library

Click on the Save button 

Close and re-open your browser

You should now be able to connect to the full-text of subscribed Unisa Library resources in the results of your search. To use Google Scholar to access the Library’s full text resources from off-campus, you will be required to log in with your student number and myUnisa password/ staff username and password.

Is wireless Internet access available in the Library?

Wireless access to the Internet is available via access points in the Main Library on the Muckleneuk Campus in Pretoria and at some of the Branch Libraries in major centres. 

Please visit the Library Technology Support guide for information on WiFi connections in the Unisa Libraries.

How do I access online resources and services?

The Library offers a number of information resources and services that are password controlled for reasons such as authentication, copyright and site license agreements, and privacy of personal information. The resources and services include access to the various subject databases, requesting books and downloading journal articles and law reports.

To get access to the Library resources and services, clients need to be authenticated as registered students or staff members of the University of South Africa. This login procedure uses a (CAS) single sign-on for students and staff. To be authenticated, students use their student number and myUnisa password, and staff members their staff number and login code. 

For instructions on passwords and Library authentication, go to the Library Technical Support guide.