LibGuides: English Studies: Newspapers

Quick Links

News24

Search South African news articles according to subjects

Access World News: Global - local, regional and national SA newspapers This link opens in a new window
Complete full-text content of 118 South African newspapers. Covers community events, education, sports, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Full text South African newspapers from the Independent Newspaper Group (IOL). Includes Cape Argus, Cape Times, Sunday Independent, Pretoria News, Mercury, Saturday Star, Sunday Tribune, The Post. Updated 24 hours after publication
SA Media (News Clippings) This link opens in a new window
SA Media is one of the most comprehensive press cutting services offering you access to a database consisting of more than 3 million newspaper reports and periodical articles which have been indexed on computer since 1978

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
Coverage from 1785-2007
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2019 This link opens in a new window
Since 1902, the Times Literary Supplement has forged a reputation for fine writing, literary discoveries, and insightful debate. The TLS has attracted the contributions of the world's most influential writers and critics, from T.S. Eliot and Virginia Woolf in the 1920s and 1930s to A.N. Wilson and Christopher Hitchens in the 1990s and 2000s.