Skip to Main Content

Sociology : Reference Sources

This Library Guide will provide you with information in the related fields of Sociology.

Quick Links

Britannica Academic Online

Encyclopedia.com

Tips

Print resources on the reference shelves have to be consulted in the library.

Copies of chapters or entries can be made in the photocopy section on level 4 of the library.

e-Reference Sources

Use the A-Z List of the Find e-References tab in the catalogue to browse all the electronic references.

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online This link opens in a new window
Vast resource offering instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship in the field of Sociology
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The OED is the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of handbooks covering multiple subject areas. Each handbook contains in-depth, high-level articles by selected leading scholars and offers thorough introductions to topics and critical surveys of the current state of scholarship.

Print Reference Sources

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by George Ritzer (Editor)
ISBN: 9781405124331
Publication Date: 2007-01-23
The Concise Encyclopedia of Sociology by George Ritzer (Editor); J. Michael Ryan (Editor)
ISBN: 9781405183536
Publication Date: 2011-01-25
Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and Africa by Andrea L. Stanton (Editor); Peter J. Seybolt (Editor); Edward Ramsamy (Editor); Carolyn M Elliott (Editor)
ISBN: 141298176X
Publication Date: 2012-01-05
Encyclopedia of Social Theory by Austin Harrington (Editor); Barbara L. Marshall (Editor); Hans-Peter Müller (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415290463
Publication Date: 2006-02-15

Library Catalogue

E-Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

A Critical Dictionary of Sociology by Raymond Boudon; FranÇcois Bourricaud
ISBN: 9780203199565
Publication Date: 1989-11-16
A Dictionary of Sociology by Gordon Marshall (Editor)
ISBN: 0192800817
Publication Date: 1998-12-17
Dictionary of the Social Sciences by Craig Calhoun (Editor)
ISBN: 0195123719
Publication Date: 2002-05-02
Encyclopedia of Social Networks by George A. A. Barnett
ISBN: 9781452266503
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Encyclopedia of Sociology by Edgar F. Borgatta; Rhonda J. V. Montgomery
ISBN: 9780028658995
Publication Date: 2003-12-01