History: Museums and Archives

The African Activist Archive allows online access to the records of activism in the United States which supported the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s.

The Apartheid Museum opened in 2001 and is acknowledged as the pre-eminent museum in the world dealing with 20th century South Africa, at the heart of which is the apartheid story.

The Archival Platform is a civil society initiative committed to deepening democracy through the use of memory and archives as dynamic public resources.

The BAHA holds 40 years of material from all the editions of Drum Magazine and its various sister publications - Golden City Post, Trust, True Love and City Press. The Archives contains a wealth of information from politics to culture and complexities of the vast Anglophone African nations.

This guide, a compilation of thousands of entries detailing Black Sash archival material housed in several South African institutions, was created by a joint project of the Black Sash and the University of Cape Town Libraries. It lists documents, press clippings, photographs and publications held at UCT, the University of the Witwatersrand, the Killie Campbell Africana Library, the Cory Library for Historical Research (Rhodes University), UNISA and the Alan Paton Centre. It is available in electronic format at these various repositories as well as on the Black Sash website.The guide is a chronicle, in outline, of the history of the Black Sash’s involvement in South Africa’s struggle for freedom and justice and its work in the service of human rights. It sheds light on many aspects of South Africa’s history.

Once the headquarters of Umkhonto we Sizwe, the military wing of the ANC and the Congress Alliance, Liliesleaf holds a position of esteem among struggle landmarks in South Africa. Visitors to Liliesleaf will experience a first-hand account of the events and circumstances leading up to the infamous raid of the Rivonia farm, as well as insights into some of the revolutionary personalities who helped to shape South Africa’s democracy.

The official website for the ANC Archives containing audio, document, photo, quotes and video content. The collections here represent a snapshot of the digitized material at Fort Hare University.

The United Kingdom's national archive for England, Wales and the United Kingdom containing over 1 000 years of the nation's records.

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the official record keeper of the United States.

In essence, the mission of the National Archives and Records Service is to foster a national identity and the protection of rights by preserving a national archival heritage for use by the government and people of South Africa.

Nelson Mandela insisted that the museum was not just to be a static collection and tribute to him, but a living memorial to his values and vision. It was to inspire and enrich all who visit it, serve as a catalyst for development and should share the heritage resources linked to him.

The Ruth First Papers are the collected notes and writings of Ruth First, activist, campaigning journalist and scholar.

SPARROW is a Women's Archives with a difference: it is an organisation which brings people together and acts an agent of change.