A step-by-step approach to ensure that you possess the key skills required to find, retrieve and evaluate information on your research topic.
This is a library guide which provides guidance in creating an online presence for researchers. The aim is to be e-visible and not invisible.
This guide provides information and tools for measuring research impact, focusing on the use of citation metrics in NRF rating preparation
This library guide outlines the basics of data management and creating a data management plan.
Comprehensive collection of more than 600 full-text online African journals from various disciplines. Includes business, finance, education, law, medicine, health, religion, science, technology, and social sciences. Also OA African Journals Archive.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
A unique and extensive index of diverse open access scholarly peer-reviewed journals from around the world. Includes South African and African journals.
Bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.
The JCR provides journal intelligence that highlights the value and contribution of a journal through a rich array of transparent data, metrics and analysis. This analysis tool summarizes citations from the journals, books, and proceedings in the Web of Science Core Collection, which is a painstakingly selected, actively curated database of the sources that have been judged to be the most important and useful in their fields.
Bibliographic and provider details of serials published in the world.
InCites is a citation-based evaluation tool for academic and government administrators to analyze institutional productivity and benchmark output against peers and aspirational peers in a national or international context.
A searchable database of over 600 journals titles as a source for journal information, evaluation metrics and submission details. Contains a listing of journals across 18 academic disciplines to determine reputable and quality journals.
Please consult your research supervisor with regard to the plagiarism detection tools at the University
At Unisa, Turnitin is used.
Turnitin is an internet based anti-plagiarism detection software that is aimed at promoting quality academic writing within learning Institutions. This allows students to develop quality writing skills as it facilitates rich, significant feedback on their submitted work. Hence in this process, they are able to improve their academic writing.
Instructors/Lecturers require students to submit their written assignments to Turnitin. The system then checks the submitted document for non-originality (possible plagiarism) by comparing submitted papers to several databases/repositories on the world wide web. Instructors/Lecturers are then able to monitor a student's similarity index.
Make use of the Turnitin website for more inforamtion.
Please find the attached Turnitin guide and the Turnitin form for your information.
The completed form must be sent to: turnitin@unisa.ac.za if you are not able to access the Turnitin.
Kindly note that the University does not support private email addresses. You may ONLY use your myLife email account for Turnitin at Unisa. You can claim your myLife e-mail at : http://www.unisa.ac.za/sites/myunisa/default/Claim-UNISA-Login
