LibGuides: Anthropology: Journal Articles

Quick Links

Title search on Material Culture

EbscoHost
An automatically updated search with full-text references in English.

Tips

Many of the databases contains a combination of full-text and bibliographic references.

If the full-text of the article is not available from the database, make a printout of the bibliographic references and then use the 'E-publication finder' to see if the journal that the article was published in is available in electronic format in one of our other databases.

Should the journal not be available electronically use the library catalogue to request the article.

Google scholar

Subject Databases

Full text articles and references to articles on particular topics may be found using the subject databases.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive multi-disciplinary scholarly database which provides access to full-text journals and other valuable resources.
Africa-Wide Information This link opens in a new window
This index combines databases from around the world to form a multi-disciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies.
Anthropological Index Online This link opens in a new window
The AIO is published by the Royal Anthropological Institute (RAI) in co-operation with the Anthropology Library and Research Centre at the British Museum. It is an index to articles in journals taken by the Library and to films held at the Royal Anthropological Institute. Records cover 1957 to the present.
AnthroSource: Journals of the American Anthropological Association This link opens in a new window
Full-text searchable database of anthropological resources from the breadth and depth of the discipline.
Informit Families & Societies Collection (Australia) This link opens in a new window
Informit Families & Society Collection provides up-to-date research on family wellbeing and the place of families in society. The database features evidence-based information and resources for lecturers, students, researchers and professionals in the child, family and community welfare sectors. This multi-disciplinary collection covers a wide range of subjects including ageing, child development and psychology, family dynamics and the many social problems relating to families. Contains full text articles dating back to 1976 with articles added daily.
Informit Indigenous Collection (Australia) This link opens in a new window
This database covers both topical and historical issues within Indigenous Studies.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences IBSS This link opens in a new window
A bibliography for social science and interdisciplinary research with a focus on anthropology.
ISAP (Index to South African Periodicals) This link opens in a new window
ISAP is a subject index of articles in periodicals published in South Africa.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR, a shared digital archive of journal titles, was created in 1995. It is not a publisher and it does not hold the copyright to any of the content it makes available. Access does not include the last three to five years of a journal title. Research articles on the JSTOR platform are largely from the social sciences and the humanities.
National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World This link opens in a new window
National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World provides unlimited access to full-text books on travel, science & technology, history, environment, animals, photography, and peoples & cultures; full-text National Geographic Traveler magazine from 2010 to the present; 374 videos on topics ranging from the Islamic world to the lifestyle of Beluga whales; 1,194 full-colour maps to support student learning and assignments, recreational and business travellers, and general knowledge; 766 National Geographic downloadable images.
Sabinet African Journals This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of more than 600 full-text online African journals from various disciplines. Includes business, finance, education, law, medicine, health, religion, science, technology, and social sciences. Also OA African Journals Archive.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database which provides a comprehensive overview of research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Vogue Archive, 1892 to present This link opens in a new window
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. It preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
Web of Science Core Collection (all citation indexes) This link opens in a new window
This citation database provides access to current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Content includes high impact journals, Open Access journals and conference proceedings.
Wiley Online Library: eJournals, eBooks and eReference This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities including journal articles, online books, reference works and databases.

Important Anthropology journals

Find course reading material/e-reserves

Find e-reserves (prescribed and recommended articles) for your module codes

Find course reading material

Find e-Journals and e-Books

E-Publication Finder

The database gives access to e-Journals, e-Books, and Videos available through the university library. It is searchable through the Journal/Book Title or Identifier (ISSN/ISBN), by DOI or PubMed ID (PMID) Number. The database also allows browsing by Title or Subject, for an example A nthropology