LibGuides: Anthropology: Reference Sources

Quick Links

Print resources on the reference shelves have to be consulted in the library.

Copies of chapters or entries can be made in the photocopy section on level 4 of the library.

African Studies Companion Online
An invaluable tool for scholars in African Studies. Entries include guides and resources for African languages, Africa cartography and maps, African film, African studies journals, magazines and newsletters, media guides and news sources for Africa, the African press, African studies library collections worldwide, national archives in Africa, centers of African studies and African studies programs worldwide, awards and prizes in African studies, and a wealth of other subjects.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central
The Berg Fashion Library is an online resource which provides an integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history.
Gale eBooks
This is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, images and specialized reference sources including those for anthropology.
Oxford English Dictionary
Widely regarded as an authority on the English language, the OED is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words - past and present - from across the English-speaking world.
Wiley Online Library: eJournals, eBooks and eReference
Blackwell Reference Online now available on this platform

Encyclopedia of Anthropology
This five-volume Encyclopedia of Anthropology is a unique collection of over 1,000 entries that focuses on topics in physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: health and illness in the world's cultures
The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology is unique because it is the first reference work to describe the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provide an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.
Theory in social and cultural anthropology : an encyclopedia
Social and cultural anthropology and archaeology are rich subjects with deep connections in the social and physical sciences.

21st Century Anthropology by H. James Birx (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412957380

Publication Date: 2010-06-10
Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology by Tim Ingold (Editor)
ISBN: 0415164214

Publication Date: 1997-03-13
Encyclopedia of Anthropology by H. James Birx (Editor)
ISBN: 0761930299

Publication Date: 2005-12-08
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by Alan Barnard (Editor); Jonathan Spencer (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415285582

Publication Date: 2002-08-30