Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following newspapers are available on microfilm in the Audio-visual Collection on level 4 of the Main Library:
- Argus (Cape)
- Cape Times
- Natal Mercury
- New Nation
- Pretoria News
Contact number : +27 12 429-3209
Search South African news articles according to subjects
Custom Newspapers South africa
A searchable selection of South African newspapers.
NewsBank: Access South Africa
This database provides complete, full-text content of local, regional, and national South African newspapers. It covers community events, education, sports, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
How to use Access South Africa
Access South Africa allows you to track issues, find information on people and events, and look for articles that contain a certain keyword or phrase. Learn how to search and locate different types of news content, including videos, transcripts, and online-only content. Published Nov 2014
SA Media is a comprehensive press cutting service offering access to a database consisting of more than 3 million South African newspaper reports and periodical articles which have been indexed online since 1978.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)
This database provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Times Digital Archive
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source. Coverage from 1785-2007.