Skip to Main Content

African Languages: Reference Sources

Finding resources on African Languages

Quick Links

Britannica Academic Online

Encyclopedia.com

Tips

Print resources on the reference shelves have to be consulted in the library.

Copies of chapters or entries can be made in the photocopy section on level 4 of the library.

e-Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics, 2nd ed. (2012) This link opens in a new window
This ground-breaking reference work is a comprehensive resource covering the highly diverse field of applied linguistics.
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics, 2nd ed., 2006 This link opens in a new window
The ELL is the first encyclopedia to really exploit the multimedia potential of linguistics. It is the most authoritative, up-to-date, comprehensive, and international reference source in its field.

Print References Sources

Print Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of African Literature by Simon Gikandi (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415549622
Publication Date: 2009-07-10
Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature by Bruce A. Rosenberg (Editor); Mary Ellen Brown (Editor)
ISBN: 9781576070031
Publication Date: 1998-09-02
Encyclopedia of the World's Endangered Languages by Christopher Moseley
ISBN: 9780700711970
Publication Date: 2007-04-23
English-Afrikaans-Northern Sotho-Tswana Aid by Isabel Uys
ISBN: 9781868900848
Publication Date: 2010-04-30
Multilingual Illustrated Dictionary by Tsoeu Bennett
ISBN: 0702167126
Publication Date: 2010-04-30
Venda Dictionary by Warmelo N. Van
ISBN: 0627016251
Publication Date: 1995-07-01
Zulu-English Dictionary by John William Colenso
ISBN: 1108047165
Publication Date: 2012-08-02