Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Many of the databases contains a combination of full-text and bibliographic references.
If the full-text of the article is not available from the database, make a printout of the bibliographic references and then use 'Find e-journals' to see if the journal that the article was published in is available in electronic format in one of our other databases.
Should the journal not be available electronically use the library catalogue to request the article.
Important e-journals for African Languages
Full text articles and references to articles on particular topics may be found using the subject databases.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including language and linguistics.
Africa-Wide Information This link opens in a new window
Africa-Wide Information, produced by NISC South Africa, combines bibliographic databases from around the world to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities.
ISAP (Index to South African Periodicals) This link opens in a new window
Covers indexed articles from South African journals since 1987.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital archive serving the scholarly community. It offers a number of subject areas including folklore, language & literature.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Gale Literature: search all Gale literature This link opens in a new window
The world’s most current, comprehensive and reliable online literature database, covering full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.
MLA International Bibliography, 1926 to present This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Sabinet African Journals (formerly SA ePublications) This link opens in a new window
Covers full-text articles from South African journals since 2001.