View this introductory video on the library!
Due to contractual and licencing agreements, access to some content may be restricted to the Unisa community.
Inclusion in this LibGuide does not imply University or Library endorsement of the ideas expressed.
This subject guide provides access to the Library's key resources relevant to the field of Agriculture, Animal Health and related sciences.
Explore the different resources and contact your librarian if you need any assistance.
In accordance with the Unisa Policy for copyright infringement and plagiarism, you are personally accountable for respecting copyright and licensing requirements. Violation of any of these restrictions could result not only in the loss of your own access to the information resources, but in the loss of access for the entire Unisa community. Disciplinary action may also be taken in terms of any applicable policy or disciplinary code, for example, the Unisa Student's Disciplinary Code.
Renewals may be done via library catalogue, telephone (+ 27 12 4294164) and at the lending desk.
Postgraduate students may loan 16 books.
Undergraduate students may loan 8 books.
Overdue books will be subject to a fine.
Prescribed books need to be purchased by the student. Limited copies are housed in the Unisa libraries and may be borrowed, subject to each branch library's lending regulation. A list of Unisa's official booksellers may be found on myUNISA .
Recommended books may be loaned from the library. Type your module code into the text box provided to locate your recommended book(s).
Search the library catalogue
When searching for books on the library catalogue you may use the drop down menu for title, author, keyword and subject searches.
Many of the databases contains a combination of full-text and bibliographic references.
If the full-text of the article is not available from the database, make a printout of the bibliographic references and then use 'Find e-journals' to see if the journal that the article was published in is available in electronic format in one of our other databases.
Should the journal not be available electronically use the library catalogue to request the article.
Full text articles and references to articles on particular topics may be found using the subject databases.
Dissertations are useful for identifying research opportunities.
Very useful for generating reading lists.
Print resources on the reference shelves have to be consulted in the library.
Copies of chapters or entries can be made in the photocopy section on level 4 of the library.
Be careful when selecting information from websites as this information can be added by anyone.
Information from subject databases is more reliable than internet sites.
Search South African news articles according to subjects
Please confirm the referencing style with the academic staff member in charge of your research.
Some referencing methods have minor variations e.g. Harvard, Augmented Harvard and Harvard British Standard.
Be consistent when using a certain style.
Turnitin is a tool to used to check for plagiarism. A researcher's work is instantly checked for potential plagiarism by comparing it against the world's largest comparison database using pattern recognition algorithms.
Please contact your supervisor/ style leader to arrange for access.
Refer to the Unisa Policy for Copyright Infringement & Plagiarism for further information
Free plagiarism software
http://www.plagiarism-detect.com/
10 free plagiarism checkers:
http://elearningindustry.com/top-10-free-plagiarism-detection-tools-for-teachers
Plagiarism is considered to be academic dishonesty. Use a reference management software tool to cite other author's work.
If you need electronic access you can limit your search on the library catalogue to e-books.
Enhancing Agricultural Innovation by 
Research Methods for the Biosciences by 
Encyclopedia of Agriculture Research by 
Advances in Nature of Science Research by 
Agriculture Research and Technology by The following Open Access Laboratory Protocols are available on Internet for free.
Protocol groups sharing and collaborating
RNA Methodologies by 
Platelet Protocols by 
Protocols for Micropropagation of Selected Economically-Important Horticultural Plants by 
Plant Organogenesis by 
Biochemistry Laboratory by Doing research involves locating and accessing relevant information and data from various information and literature resources. However, conducting a literature search on the various information e-resources and databases involves two steps. The first step allows the researcher to conduct a comprehensive search on various e-resources and databases to locate and access the relevant literature for your research retrospective to present. The second step allows you to source and locate possible relevant information for your research on the various e-resources and databases by creating alert based on the current search / previous searches you have conducted. Creating alerts will ensure that the e-resource / database sends you an e-mail alerting you of new literature which is based on your alert, is published. This step is particularly helpful in eliminating the need to re-do searches regularly to see if new literature has been published that is relevant on your research.
There are generally three types of alerts available to the researcher to use and the availability of the alert depends on the functionality of the e-resource / database that you are conducting your literature search on:
Unisa Catalytic Niche Focus Areas
Unisa introduced 10 New Catalytic Niche Areas of research and engaged scholarship which are increasingly becoming spaces of much needed innovation in the university, the country and the continent at large accessible at link https://www.unisa.ac.za/sites/corporate/default/Research-&-Innovation/Research-&-Innovation-Week-2023/Catalytic-Niche-Areas.
The Catalytic Niche Areas with interest to the College Agriculture and Environmental Sciences (CAES) include:
Marine Studies
Natural Sciences (Biotechnological Studies)
Health /Medicine
This website will highlight the e-resources and database collections in support of the catalytic niche areas.