LibGuides: Mercantile Law: Legal Databases

Quick Links

Tips

Many of the databases contains a combination of full-text and bibliographic references.

If the full-text of the article is not available from the database, make a printout of the bibliographic references and then use 'Find e-journals' to see if the journal that the article was published in is available in electronic format in one of our other databases.

Should the journal not be available electronically use the library catalogue to request the article.

Subject Databases

Full text articles and references to articles on particular topics may be found using the subject databases.

SA Government Gazettes (1994 - present) This link opens in a new window
SA Government Gazettes containing up-to-date board notices, legislation, regulations, proclamations, deceased estates, legal notices, liquor notices, liquidations, road carrier permits and more. Updated daily.
Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window SAGE Research Methods supports beginning and advanced researchers in every step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings. With information on the full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioral sciences, as well as many methods commonly used in the hard sciences, the book, reference, and journal content in SAGE Research Methods help researchers of all levels conduct their research

Oxford Reports on International Law

Parliamentary Documents This link opens in a new window
Policy documents provides access to draft bills, committee reports, submissions to Parliament, speeches by ministers and policy makers.
SA Provincial Gazettes (1994 - present) This link opens in a new window
Gazettes information from all nine province from 1995 to present. Provides information to all the bills passed on provincial level. Linked details included such as subject, originating department and relevant act. Updated daily.
SA Provincial Gazettes Retrospective (1910 - 1994) This link opens in a new window
Retrospective South African Provincial Gazettes covering the period 1910 - 1994 of the 4 previous provinces: Cape, Natal, Transvaal and Orange Free State.
SA Government Gazettes Retrospective (1910 - 1993) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive full text archive collection of South African Government Gazettes published from 1910 to 1993. Includes historical notices relating to land division, genealogy, import and export of goods, establishment of townships, demarcation notices, and the registration and deregistration of companies.

SabinetLaw

Bill Tracker This link opens in a new window
Bill Tracker keeps you abreast of the updated profile, history and status of every Bill tabled before Parliament. It includes draft bills and is updated daily. Also provides a glossary of Parliamentary terms used in Government.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JutaStat e-Publications (Juta Law Online) This link opens in a new window
South African full text law journals published by Juta.
Kluwer Arbitration This link opens in a new window
Kluwer Competition Law This link opens in a new window
Kluwer International Encyclopaedia of Laws This link opens in a new window
25 distinct reference works that provides practical information and valuable insight into both national and international legal frameworks. Description how each national legal system governs specific fields of law.
Kluwer International Tax Law This link opens in a new window
Kluwer IP Law This link opens in a new window
Kluwer Law eBooks This link opens in a new window
Professional digital books and textbooks in law subject areas such as health, tax, accounting, legal. compliance and finance.
Kluwer Law Online: Manuals This link opens in a new window
High-quality collection of manuals on the international legal landscape in areas such as corporate and commercial law, litigation, labour law, and transport law.
LexisNexis (South African Law) - read instructions first This link opens in a new window
Instructions for self-registration in effect from 27 March 2024
Self-registration is the new way to access your LexisNexis online research subscriptions. These products include Lexis® Library SA Law and LexisNexis Practical Guidance.

You only need to follow this registration process once.

How to register:
1. Go to https://www.mylexisnexis.co.za/
2. Complete the screen with the following:
Your Name, Surname, Work Email Address and a Password that you would like to use.

Note: Your work email address must belong to one of the following email domains:
mylife.unisa.ac.za
unisa.ac.za
3. Accept the LexisNexis Terns and Conditions and tick the Captcha box,
4. Click on Register
5. Verify your account by clicking on the link in the e-mail send to the address used to register.
6. Log in on the LexisNexis screen after successful verification of your new account.
7. Tick Remember Me to save your login credentials and then click Login
8. Bookmark https://www.mylexisnexis.co.za/

Please contact lib-help@unisa.ac.za for assistance with access
Lexis+ UK (new platform) This link opens in a new window
New platform from April 2024
Online legal research tool offering access to extensive UK and global legal information. It provides full text access to UK, US and international case law, legislation and articles in legal journals, plus an online version of Encyclopaedia of Forms and Precedents and Halsbury’s Laws of England. Also provides access to Lexis International materials and UK Practical Guidance.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags.
National Legislation (NetLaw) This link opens in a new window
Updates on new legislation or amendments to existing acts in full text. Receive weekly newsletters, which include new amendments, principal acts, published and drafts, for comment where changes are clearly marked, making it easy to spot the latest amendments.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text news, business and international legal publications.
ProQuest Criminology Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as law enforcement and security services. It includes the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database, with further index and full-text coverage of scholarly journals. It also includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other relevant material for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, and related fields.
Sabinet African Journals This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of more than 600 full-text online African journals from various disciplines. Includes business, finance, education, law, medicine, health, religion, science, technology, and social sciences. Also OA African Journals Archive.
Sabinet Legal Products (Bills, Acts, By-laws, Gazettes, Labour) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text legal information including bill tracking, national and provincial gazettes, national & provincial acts, amendment acts with rules, regulations and forms also available
Sabinet Municipal By-Laws (all 9 provinces) This link opens in a new window
Sabinet Municipal By-Laws offers access to all By-laws in force and applicable to each individual Municipality in all nine (9) provinces. Covers from 1995 to date.
WestLaw International This link opens in a new window
Full text books and journals covering all aspects of US and international law. Includes over 1,000 journals and law reviews, case law, statutes and news from the US, UK, Australia, New Zealand, European Union, Canada and Hong Kong.

Mercantile Law: Legal Databases

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Quick Links

Tips

Subject Databases

Google Scholar

Find e-Reserves

Find e-Journals