LibGuides: Public, Constitutional and International Law: Newspapers

Quick Links

Use this block to add free subject specific newspapers. Otherwise, please delete this block if you do not have any.

The following newspapers are available on microfilm in the Audio-visual Collection on level 4 of the Main Library:

Contact number : +27 12 429-3209

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Consists of more than five million cross-searchable pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries covering slave trade history. The archive is not just valuable to researchers in African history, but the wider scope of African studies and African-American studies, making it an unprecedented collection developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, it offers never-before-available research opportunities and endless teaching possibilities.
SA Media (News Clippings) This link opens in a new window
A news clipping services collection comprising over 4,5 million articles. Covers mainstream publications in South Africa from 1977 to present day. Adds approximately 2500 news articles weekly, 3-6 weeks after the publication date.
PressReader: online newspapers of the world This link opens in a new window

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2014. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.