Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Many of the databases contains a combination of full-text and bibliographic references.
If the full-text of the article is not available from the database, make a printout of the bibliographic references and then use 'Find e-Journals' to see if the journal that the article was published in is available in electronic format in one of our other databases.
Should the journal not be available electronically use the library catalogue to request the artice.
Full text articles and references to articles on particular topics may be found using the subject databases.
Brill Online Journals (current and archive)
Over 200 academic journals in the humanities, social sciences and STM area published by Brill Publishers. Includes most journals published in 19th and 20th century from Vol. 1, no 1, up
Christian-Muslim Relations: a Bibliographical History, 2010
A general online history of relations between the faiths. It covers the period from 600 to 1500, when encounters took place through the extended Mediterranean basin and are recorded in Syriac, Arabic, Greek, Latin and other languages.
EBSCOhost (All databases)
Databases critical to Religious Studies are Academic Search Premier, ATLA Religion, Historical Abstracts, Humanities Source.
Index to the Study of Religions
Online version of the journal Science and Religion, contains bibliography of references on the study of religion.
Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970
This database contains more than 17000 records from the British Public Records Office (PRO) dealing with the British historical connection to the Arab-Israeli conflict. The original documentation represents official perspectives from the Foreign Office (FO), the Colonial Office (CO), the War Office (WO), and Cabinet Papers, with a time period dating from the issuance of the so-called Balfour Declaration (1917) through the activities of the Palestinian group Black September during a period of internal conflict in Jordan in 1970.
The database is augmented with 3 essays that serve as a guide to the topics covered, and research prompts that serve as references with links to relevant documents. The above-mentioned essays are an introduction by Dr Eugene Rogan, Palestine and the Arab-Israeli Conflict: 19481970 by Dr Charles Smith, and The PLO and the Palestinian Armed Struggle by professor Yezid Sayigh.
ProQuest Religion covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many, worldwide religions. In addition, there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations.
Religion Past and Present
English translation of the definitive Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart (RGG), 4th, 1908. Covers religions worldwide including its history, archaeology, liturgy, law, bible, music, politics, social sciences, natural sciences, ethics, and philosophy.
Sabinet African Journals (formerly SA ePublications)
Collection of more than 560 full-text online African journals from various disciplines. Includes business, finance, education, law, medicine, health, religion, social sciences. Also OA African Journals Archive.
World Christian Database
Includes information on 9,000 Christian denominations and religions from every country in the world, including religious activities, growth rates, literature, demographic statistics. Also a chronology of Christianity from the 1st to 21st centuries.
Find course reading material/e-reserves