Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

21st Century Literacies: Articles

This subject guide provides access to the Library's key resources covering aspects of literacies essential for the 21st century.

e-Journal Finder

The e-Journal finder can be used when you know the name of a journal.

 

Search: Library Publications
Disciplines

Google scholar

Google Scholar is useful for a quick overview of what has been written on a topic.  For best results use the advanced search option and use keyword combinations or phrases.   

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar is best used in conjunction with the Unisa Library's e-Journal Finder

For example, where you are prompted to submit payment for an article.

See the box  "Find the full-text journal article" on this page.

Links to selected fulltext articles

The following are links to selected fulltext articles covering various aspects of the trends in various literacies relevant to the 21st century.

It is a useful point of departure to get started on researching the topic.  When the details of the article opens, please select the pdf to download.

Pre-determined keyword searches

 The following are links to pre-determined keyword searches and these are self-updating.  After clicking on each link, a list of articles will come up containing keywords covering the theme.  Not all the articles may be relevant.  Select those articles which you think are applicable to your approach to the topic.  Select the pdf option for downloading or email the pdf article to yourself  the email function.  When emailing, please ensure that the box next to “pdf as a separate attachment” is √

These links are from the Ebsco database collection.  Use similar keyword combinations to search the other databases

Subject databases

 Full text articles and references to articles on particular topics may be found using the subject databases.  Possible keywords and keyword combinations may be:

  • metaliteracy
  • medialiteracy
  • digital literacy
  • metaliterate
  • information literacy trends

 Please see the box above Pre-determined keyword searches for further ideas on keyword combinations.