LibGuides: Institute for Science & Technology Education (ISTE): Finding Journal Articles

Quick Links

Tips

Many of the databases contains a combination of full-text and bibliographic references.

If the full-text of the article is not available from the database, make a printout of the bibliographic references and then use 'E- publication finder' to see if the journal that the article was published in is available in electronic format in one of our other databases.

Google Scholar

Subject Databases

Sabinet African Journals
Includes the African Journal Archive and the Index to South African Periodicals (ISAP)

Emerald Journals This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) on EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature and resources with both bibliographic and full-text references.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is a scholarly research database that indexes, abstracts, and provides full-text for articles and papers on computer science, electrical engineering and electronics. The database mainly covers material from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology
A+ Education (Australia) This link opens in a new window
Informit A+ Education provides over 30 years of globally relevant education research compiled for the teaching and research professional. Created in partnership with the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER), Informit A+ Education contains in-depth coverage of the learning, teaching and management issues facing all teaching professionals. Contributions come from leading researchers in teacher training, and include articles on policy, curriculum and pedagogical developments
ScienceDirect (all journal and book titles) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a large database of scientific and medical research with over 3,500 academic journals and 34,000 e-books. The journals are grouped into four main sections: Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences and Humanities.
SpringerLink: eJournals, eBooks and eReference This link opens in a new window
Full text journals, books and reference works published by Springer Publishers. Subjects covered include chemistry, engineering, mathematics, physics and computing
Taylor and Francis Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Quality, peer-reviewed academic journals published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge.
Wiley Online Library: eJournals, eBooks and eReference This link opens in a new window
Wiley is a collection of online resources covering life, health, and physical sciences as well as social science and the humanities with access to 1,500 journals, more than 14,000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols, and databases.

Find e-Journals

Search: Library Publications

Disciplines

Important Journals

Find e-Reserves

Journal Impact Factors

Use these databases to find the top journals in your discipline, to compare journal titles and to find a journal in which to publish your article.

Journal Guide
JournalGuide brings all sources of data together in one place to give authors a simple way to choose the best journal for their research.

Cabell's Journalytics Academic This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of over 600 journals titles as a source for journal information, evaluation metrics and submission details. Contains a listing of journals across 18 academic disciplines to determine reputable and quality journals.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
A tool for evaluating journals using citation data.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Using citations from Elsevier’s collection of peer-reviewed journals in the health sciences, life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences and humanities, the Scopus Journal Analyzer lets you compare up to 10 journals simultaneously from 1996. Journals can be analyzed on a variety of factors including SNIP, SJR and number of citations. Search results display graphically and are updated every two months.