Skip to main content

e-Journals and how to use the e-Journal Finder? : Quick Guide to the e-Journal Finder

Quick guide to e-Journal Finder

If you would like to check if any articles you are interested in are available electronically, please use the Find e-Journals  link:

You will be prompted to enter the journal title (Title begins with). Please do not search for the article title. Use the journal title. So, for example, if you are looking for the article Chichilnisky, G 1996, ‘A robust theory of resource allocation', Social Choice & Welfare, Vol. 13, no.1, pp. 1-10, you must enter the journal title Social Choice & Welfare in the search window and then click on Search

  • If the Library subscribes to the electronic version of the journal you will be presented with the databases in which the journal can be found.  See the screen capture below.

  • You will then check the date coverage of the databases listed. This is very important.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the sample search above you will see that the Social Choice and Welfare is available in two databases, namely JSTOR Archive Collection (which offers date coverage from 01/01/1984  19984 to present) and Springer Online Archives Collection  (which offer coverage from 05/01/1984 to 31/12/1996).

As you can see, the year 1996 is not available in the ABI/INFORM Collection, ABI/INFORM Global and EconLit with Full Text databases.

You would therefore have to use the JSTOR Archive Collection database to find the article published in 1996.

  • Having noted the database which provides the date coverage you need, you then  click on the appropriate database title, in this case the JSTOR Archive Collection database. You will be prompted to enter your student number and myUnisa password and staff members will be prompted for their Unisa Network username and password.
  • You will be taken to the journal home page.

  • You can now enter the article title ('A robust theory of resource allocation’), or, browse down by year, volume and/or issue number (e.g, 1996, volume 13 issue number 1) and finally by title and page numbers.

  • Once you have located the article, you will be presented with a link to the full text either in PDF or HTML.

  • You may read the article online, print, email or save the article.