SBL Harvard Referencing Style: Introduction to Referencing and Plagiarism

WHAT IS PLAGIARISM?

The acknowledgement of another author's work is called a reference, and the failure to provide references discredits the integrity of the research and exposes the writer to a charge of plagiarism.

Plagiarism is when you present another person’s ideas as your own, without properly acknowledging the source of the ideas. It is regarded as a criminal offense.

You are plagiarising if you are:

• Turning is someone else's work as your own
• Copying so many words or ideas from a source that it makes up the majority of your work, irrespective of the fact that you gave credit or whether you used quotation marks
• Copying words or ideas from someone else without giving credit
• Failing to put a quotation in quotation marks
• Giving incorrect information about the source of a quotation
• Changing words but copying the sentence structure of a source without giving credit
  Source: https://www.plagiarism.org/article/what-is-plagiarism

BIBLIOGRAPHY

A bibliography is far more comprehensive than a list of references, as it is an alphabetical list of all materials consulted, in addition to those cited in the text http://www.apastyle.org/faqa.html

CITATION

A line that identifies the source of a statement, and occurs in the body of a paper. It is also called an in-text citation, for example

(Author(s), publication year:pages)

(Palmer, 2010:12)

CITATION STYLES

​​A citation style shows the format you need to use when presenting your in-text citations and bibliographies  There are a number of citation styles, e.g. APA, Harvard, Chicago etc. and which one is used can depend on the academic discipline. They all convey the same information,  but they present it differently. 

HARVARD REFERENCING STYLE

This method involves name-and-date references in the text, with an alphabetically arranged list of sources

• Unisa uses the Augmented Harvard Reference Style

• It is the prerogative of the promoter/ supervisor to prescribe the style to be used

• Always consult with your supervisor first

• This presentation is based on the Bibliographic Style & Reference Techniques by Marlene Burger

LIST OF REFERENCES

A list of references is an alphabetical list of all the sources that you cited in the text of your paper. This means that all the publications cited in your work must be contained in the list of references.

The SBL requires a single list of references at the end of the written work that provides accurate details of all the sources cited. It should provide enough information to allow your reader to identify and locate the source that you used and distinguish it from other versions of the same material. An example of a List of References has been included at the end of this guide.

PARAPHRASING

• Paraphrasing is when you make use of someone else’s ideas, but put them into your own words, and according to your personal style of writing (thus avoiding plagiarism)

• Generally, it is better to paraphrase than to quote

• Ensure that you formulate others’ ideas in such a way that it blends in nicely with your own writing style

• Do not misrepresent the other person’s ideas in order to suit your purposes

• As with quotations, acknowledge the source of your ideas using the prescribed referencing method

Source: http://www.unisa.ac.za/contents/library/docs/Plagiarism.pdf

PRIMARY SOURCE

Refers to a specific source that an author has written

QUOTATION

When you quote the exact words of an author

• Use inverted commas (“ “) directly before and after the quoted text

• Acknowledge the source of the quotation in line with the referencing method prescribed by your department or subject field

           "... describes how services marketing works in practice"  (Palmer, 1998: 23)

Quotations can not be an entire paragraph that was copied and pasted word for word. A quotation is a short excerpt surrounded by your own words.

REFERENCE

This refers to a document consulted in your research. It should include all the bibliographic details needed to trace the document, for example   

 Author’s Surname, Initials. Year of publication. Title of book (in italics). Edition. Place of  publication: Publisher.

 Palmer,  A. 1998. Principles of services marketing. 2nd ed. New York: McGraw- Hill

SECONDARY SOURCE

Refers to material which is written as an interpretation, criticism or research about an author or subject

• Read the original passages from more than one quality source carefully to ensure that you understand the concepts clearly
• Ensure that you understand all the concepts clearly by looking up synonyms for words in the passage that you are reading
• Take notes by writing down each idea presented in the passage in a few words, not in a complete sentence
• If you have to paraphrase a long passage, it might be helpful for you to make a brief outline
• Write your paraphrased section from your notes without consulting the original sources
• Compare your paraphrased section with the original and ensure that you didn't copy words or sentence structures too similarly
• Ensure that you present the original meaning accurately and that you neither add new ideas nor remove any important parts from the original
• Finally, add a reference at the end of the paraphrased section, and don't forget to include the sources in your reference list.

Source: https://www.eliteediting.com.au/how-to-paraphrase/

A list of references is an alphabetical list of all the sources that you have cited in the text of your work. This means that all the publications cited in your work must be contained in the list of references.

A bibliography, on the other hand, is far more comprehensive, as it is an alphabetical list of all materials consulted, in addition to those cited in the text.

CEMS requires a single list of references at the end of the written work that provides accurate details of all the sources cited. It should provide enough information to allow your reader to identify and locate the source that you have used and to distinguish it from other versions of the same material. An example of a list of references is included at the end of this guide.

General rules of referencing
 

• Be consistent throughout your list of references!
• The reference list is always arranged in alphabetical order by the author’s surname.
• References must not be numbered.
• The layout, punctuation and capitalisation of all references should be consistent throughout the list of references.
• Capitalise the first letter of all personal names, corporate authors and place names.
• Only capitalise the first letter of the first word in the title of a book or journal article, e.g. Cases in services marketing. In the case of a book, the title should be in italics. The title of an article is neither in italics nor in inverted commas (see examples in the list at the end of this guide).
• Capitalise the first letter of all the words other than conjunctions (and, or, of, etc.) for names of journals, e.g. Management Review Quarterly (name of journal in italics).
• Use italics as shown in this guide when using a word processor and underlining when you are writing or using a typewriter. The titles of unpublished works are not italicised.
• For in-text citations, use round brackets ().
• Do not use brackets around the date in your list of references, but use square brackets [ ] for the date on which you accessed an online resource.
• If there is no date, use (n.d.). If no place of publication is given, use (s.l.) and if no author is given, use Anon.
• Always use the ampersand, i.e. & instead of ‘and’, except in cases where the author is cited as part of a sentence, e.g. According to Wiid and Cant (2021) …
• Page ranges must be written as: 78–80.
• The year of publication always follows the author(s).
• Editions of books are always written in full, e.g., 2nd edition. A first edition is never referred to as such in the reference list.

Barauskaite, G. & Streimikiene, D. 2021. Corporate social responsibility and financial performance of companies: The puzzle of concepts, definitions and assessment methods. Corporate Social Responsibility and Environmental Management, 28: 278-287 doi: 10.1002/csr.2048

BHP Billiton. 2017. BHP Billiton sustainability report for the year ended 30 June 2017. Available at: https://www.bhp.com/-/media/documents/investors/annual- reports/2017/bhpsustainabilityreport2017.pdf? [Accessed: 2 May 2018].

Broermann, S. 2020. Trade-led growth: A path to sustainable development in sub-Saharan Africa. In S.F. Churchill (Ed.). Moving from the millennium to the sustainable development goals: Lessons and recommendations. Singapore: Palgrave Macmillan, 119153.

Cant, M.C. & Van Heerden, C.H. 2020. Marketing management: A South African perspective. 4th edition. Claremont: Juta.

City of Melbourne. 2018. Buildings with name, age, size, accessibility, and bicycle facilities. Census of Land Use and Employment [Dataset]. Available at: https://data.melbourne.vic.gov.au/Property-Planning/Buildings-with-name-age-size-accessibility-and-bic/pmhb-s6pn [Accessed: 7 January 2019].

Cokins, G., Pohlen, T. & Klammer, T. 2021. Supply chain costing and performance management. 2nd edition. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley.

Collins, J. 2017. Report on visit to international business schools. Unpublished report to the Unisa Graduate School of Business Leadership.

Curran, S. 2019. Yesterday in Parliament 18th June [Podcast], 18 June. Available at: http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p02tys33 [Accessed: 19 June 2019].

Dahlgaard-Park, S.M. & Dahlgaard, J.J. (Eds.). 2021. Key challenges and opportunities of quality, sustainability and innovation in the Fourth Industrial Revolution. Singapore: World Scientific.

Dlamini, N. 2021. E-commerce trends in retail in South Africa [PowerPoint presentation], 4 November. Business Solutions, Midrand.

Durie, A.D. 2017. Marketing strategies of textile companies: The case of selected medium and large Ethiopian textile companies. Unpublished DBL thesis. University of South Africa, Pretoria.

Fredericks, F. 2012. Vinyl cleaning tool. UK Intellectual Property Office, patent no. GB2468906. Available at: http://www.ipo.gov.uk/p/find-publication [Accessed: 5 June 2013].

Fry, S. 2019. Stephen Fry [Twitter], 2 August. Available at: http://www.twitter.com/stephenfry [Accessed: 18 December 2019].

Goode, W. 2020. Dictionary of trade policy terms. Cambridge University Press. Available at: https://0-doi-org.oasis.unisa.ac.za/10.1017/9781108913638 [Accessed: 3 March 2021].

Hoffmann v South African Airways 2017 (1) SA 1 (CC).

HoffsTech. 2022. The importance of diversity in the workplace [YouTube video]. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pn6WzHw7gHY [Accessed: 2 March 2022].

Hughes, O.E. 2021. The art of strategy. New York, NY: Routledge.

Hurwitz v Taylor 2019 TPD 81.

IMF (International Monetary Fund). 2022. IMF Committee on Balance of Payments Statistics: Annual report 2021. Washington, DC.

Ivana, D., Zaharie, M.A., Metz, D. & Dragan, M. 2021. Digital talent management: Insights from the information technology and communication industry. Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan.

“Julia”. 2017. E-commerce set to crash [Blog entry], 30 November. Available at: http://www.burstyourbubble.com/ecommerce/ [Accessed: 2 December 2018].

Kreuter, T., Scavarda, L.F. & Thomé, A.M.T. 2021. Empirical and theoretical perspectives in sales and operations planning. Review of Managerial Science. [In press].

Maggs, P.N. 2021. Director, E-Commerce Solutions [Personal interview], 27 September, Midrand.

Mamaregane, F. 2022. Accounting for managers: Study guide for PBA4807. Midrand: University of South Africa.

Mathu, K.M. & Scheepers, C. 2016. Leading change towards sustainable green coal mining. Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies. Available at: https://www.emeraldinsight.com/doi/full/10.1108/EEMCS-01-2016-0007 [Accessed: 7 June 2017].

May, P. (jayp54@hotmail.com). 2019. Re: Outsourcing supply. E-mail to M. Ndlovu (mndlovu@unisa.ac.za), 9 March.

Metal and Allied Workers Union and another v A Mauchle (Pty) Ltd t/a Precision Tools 2021 (1) ILJ 227 (IC) 152.

Milanzi, S.A. 2021. Inclusive growth, innovation and economic development in South Africa: An empirical analysis. PhD dissertation. University of Limpopo. Available at: http://hdl.handle.net/10386/3596 [Accessed: 9 January 2022].

Mintzberg, H. 1979. The basic parts of organisations – Mintzberg’s model [Diagram]. In G.A. Cole. 2004. Management theory and practice. 6th ed. London: Thomson, 186.

Moraka, W. 2022. Access to water a human right that needs more focus. Cape Argus, 28 March: 6.

Naughton, S. 2018. Seminar 7: Transforming organisations: strategy, structure & design. Lecture notes. Organisation Change Management BMO6624. Victoria University, delivered 21 May 2018.

Ndlovu, T. 2021. Efficiency, productivity and returns to scale economies in South Africa’s healthcare insurance market. Studies in Economics and Econometrics, 45(3): 34-39.

Odiyo, J.O., Bikam, P.B. & Chikwizira, J. (Eds.). 2022. Green economy in the transport sector. Bern: Springer.

Okharedia, A.A. 2020. The role of servant leadership and spirituality in promoting efficiency and productivity in the workplace. Pharos Journal of Theology, 101: a10. Available at: https://www.pharosjot.com/uploads/7/1/6/3/7163688/article_10_vol_101__2020__unisa.pdf [Accessed: 23 July 2021].

Pehrsson, A. (Ed.). 2021. Competitive international strategy: Key implementation issues. New York, NY: Routledge.

Pillay, A.S. & Pillay, C.A. 2018. The beneficiation of waste as part of the implementation of the circular economy in South Africa. In S.K. Ghosh (Ed.). Waste management as economic industry towards circular economy: Proceedings of the 8th International Conference on Sustainable Waste Management, Vijayawada, 22-24 November. Singapore: Springer, 17-35. Available at: https://0-link-springer-com.oasis.unisa.ac.za/chapter/10.1007/978-981-15-1620-7_3 [Accessed: 9 January 2021].

Robert Gordon University. 2016. WinDiets student (2016) [Software]. [Accessed: 18 April 2016].

Rogerson, J.M. 2021. Tourism business responses to South Africa’s COVID-19 pandemic emergency. GeoJournal of Tourism & Geosites, 35(2): 338-347.

Salehi, M. & Arianpoor, A. 2021. The relationship among financial and non-financial aspects of business sustainability performance: Evidence from Iranian panel data. The TQM Journal, 33(6): 1447-1468. doi: 10:1108/TQM-08-2020-0175

Sharma, G. & Kumar, H. 2018a. Exploring the possibilities of utility models patent regime for grassroots innovations in India. Journal of Intellectual Property Rights, 23(2/3): 119-130.

Sharma, G. & Kumar, H. 2018b. Intellectual property rights and informal sector innovations. Journal of World Intellectual Property, 21(3/4): 123-139.

Sityata, I., Botha, L. & Dubihlela, J. 2021. Risk management practices by South African universities: An annual report disclosure analysis. Journal of Risk and Financial Management, 14(1): 1-22 doi: 10.3390/jrfm14050195

Smith, J. N.d. Outsourcing logistics. Logistics International. Available at: http://www.logisticsinternational.org.us/html [Accessed: 28 November 2019].

Soliman, K.S. (Ed.). 2019. Ethical culture development in family-owned businesses: Proceedings of the 34th International Business Information Management Association (IBIMA) Conference, Madrid, 13–14 November. Madrid: International Business Information Management Association.

Song, J. 2021. Supply chain innovations [Video]. Henry Stewart Talks. Available at: https://hstalks.com/bm/4583/ [Accessed: 10 April 2022].

South African Government. 2021a. Financial Sector Laws Amendment Act 23 of 2021. Available at: https://www.gov.za/documents/financial-sector-laws-amendment-act-23-2021-english-setswana-28-jan-2022-0000 [Accessed: 9 January 2021].

South African Government. 2021b. Taxation Laws Amendment Act 20 of 2021. Pretoria: Government Printer.

Spar, D. & Burns, J. 2017. Hitting the wall: Nike and International Labor Practices. HBS 700047. Boston, MA: Harvard Business School Publishing.

Stats SA (Statistics South Africa). 2019. Labour market dynamics in South Africa, 2019. Pretoria.

Stats SA (Statistics South Africa). 2020. The Marginalised Groups Series 6: The Social Profile of Youth 2014-2020. Pretoria.

S v Maseko 2020 (1) SACR 107 (A).

The Star. 2022. December power outage in Cape Town’s CBD explained: This is how and why it happened, 7 April: 9.

Thompson, S. 2021. Green and sustainable finance. Kogan Page. Available at: https://0-ebookcentral-proquest-com.oasis.unisa.ac.za/lib/unisa1-ebooks/detail.action?docID=6483565 [Accessed: 7 April 2022].

UN (United Nations). 2020. UNDESA World Social Report 2020. UNDESA. Available at: https://www.un.org/development/desa/dspd/world-social-report/2020-2.html [Accessed: 5 March 2020].

Unisa (University of South Africa). 2022. Value-based management: Study guide for MBA5901. Midrand: Graduate School of Business Leadership.

Vaara, E. & Fritsch, L. 2021. Strategy as language and communication: Theoretical and methodological advances and avenues for the future in strategy process and practice research. Strategic Management Journal, 43(6): 1-12. doi: 10.1002/smj.3360

Wessels, J.S. 2021. Reflective public administration [Facebook], 1 July. Available at: https://web.facebook.com/ReflectivePACKM [Accessed: 18 June 2021].

Wheeler, D. 2017. Getting to grips with the e-supply chain. In T. Andersson (Ed.). Getting started with electronic commerce: Proceedings of the 7th International Conference on Electronic Commerce, Geneva, 2–4 October. New York, NY: Association for Computing Machinery, 121-139.

Wiid, J.A. & Cant, M.C. 2021. The future growth potential of township SMMEs: An African perspective.  Journal of Contemporary Management, 18(1): 1-23.

Woods, C., Fernee, C., Browne, M., Zakrzewski, S. & Dickinson, A. 2018. The potential of statistical shape modelling for geometric morphometric analysis of human teeth in archaeological research [Dataset]. University of Southampton Institutional Repository. doi: 10.5258/

REFERENCING SECONDARY SOURCES

You may wish to quote a piece of work that has been referred to in something you have read. This is called ‘secondary referencing’ because you have not read the original piece of work. In other words, you are relying on the author you are reading to give a fair reflection of the contents of the original work. Wherever possible, it is important to read the original work, but this may be difficult in some instances. If you must refer to a secondary reference, your text should make it clear that you have not read the original.

This is only acceptable under extreme circumstances. It is important to consult the original material to ensure that you understand the context of what was discussed.

Examples:

Research used by Smith (2000) regarding services marketing, shows that the indicators formulated by Grant (1994) in his PhD thesis entitled   Services marketing in transportation (Dunhill University) are applicable to the airline industry.

The work by Smith (2000) will be included in your bibliography, as this is where you read about Grant’s research.  However, the work by Grant (1994) is not included. You cannot include details about the original study, as you have not consulted it.

Another example:

A process project might consist of a number of stages including experimentation and production (Rondinelli 1983, cited in Potts, 2002:37). List the source you actually read, i.e. Potts.