CEMS APA 7th edition Referencing Style Guide: Reference Sources

DICTIONARIES WITH AN AUTHOR(S) OR AN EDITOR(S)

A dictionary with author/authors or editor/editors, are referenced in the same way as a book with author/authors – both in text as well as in the reference list.

Reference list:

Peters, P. (2013). The Cambridge dictionary of English grammar. Cambridge University Press.

VandenBos, G. R. (Ed.). (2015). APA dictionary of psychology (2nd ed.). American Psychological Association

In text:

The principal unit of measurement on a ruler is centimetre (King, 2023).

---

DICTIONARIES AS COLLECTED WORK

Treat this the same as referencing a chapter in an edited book.

Reference list:

Brokaw, D. (1990). Character and personality. In R. J. Hunter (Ed.), Dictionary of pastoral care and counselling (pp. 136-137). Abingdon Press.

In text:

Extroversion is an often wished for personality trait (Stephen, 1999).

---

ONLINE DICTIONARIES

When an online dictionary is updated over time and not archived, include a retrieval date in the reference list entry.

Reference list:

American Psychological Association. (n.d.). Internet addiction. In APA dictionary of psychology. Retrieved April 24, 2022, from https://dictionary.apa.org/internet-addiction

 

In text: Culture refers to the “customary beliefs, social forms, and material traits of a racial, religious, or social group” (APA, n.d.).

---

DICTIONARIES ON MOBILE APPS

Reference list:

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). In Merriam-Webster dictionary (Version 4.3.3) [Mobile application]. Retrieved from http://www.merriam-webster.com/apps

In text:

Merriam-Webster, n.d.).

---

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Printed encyclopedias

Usually, encyclopedias are collected works and often edited and compiled by editors, with contributors (authors) writing different sections or articles of the work. The entry in the reference list will look like that of a chapter in an edited book.

Reference list:

Bergmann, P.G. (1993). Relativity. In The new encyclopaedia Britannica (Vol. 26, pp.501-508). Encyclopedia Britannica.

Conteh-Morgan, J. (2003). Modern drama. In S. Gikandi (Ed.), Encyclopedia of African literature (pp. 332-336). Routledge.

In text:

(Bergmann, 1993) OR According to Conteh-Morgan (2003)…

---

ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Reference list:

Murphy, J. B., & Van Andel, T. H. (2018). Plate tectonics. In Britannica academic. https://academic-eb-com.nwulib.nwu.ac.za/levels/collegiate/article/plate-tectonics/108555

In text:

(Murphy & Van Andel, 2018).