Skip to Main Content

Summon Discovery Tool vs. Google Scholar LibGuide: Home

This guide is designed to help you navigate and leverage the strengths of two powerful research tools: Summon and Google Scholar. Whether you're a student, researcher, or faculty member at the University of South Africa (UNISA) or another institution, thi

Learning Objectives of this Guide

Overview: 

  • Features Comparison: A detailed comparison of the features and capabilities of Summon and Google Scholar to help you choose the right tool for your research needs.
  • How to Use Summon: Step-by-step instructions on accessing and utilizing the Summon Discovery Tool from the UNISA library website.
  • How to Use Google Scholar: A guide to effectively using Google Scholar for your academic research.
  • Pros and Cons: An analysis of the advantages and disadvantages of each tool.
  • Tips for Effective Research: Best practices for using Summon and Google Scholar together to enhance your research process.
  • Help and Support: Resources and contact information for additional assistance.

By the end of this guide, you will be able to distinguish Summon and Google Scholar, making your research process more productive and comprehensive.

If you have any questions or need further help, please don't hesitate to reach out to your Personal Librarians and Branch Librarians Contacts by campus: Muckleneuk, Florida Library, Ekurhuleni Library, Midlands Library, Western Cape Library, Ethekwini Library.

Summon Discovery Tool:

  • A comprehensive library search engine that provides access to a wide range of library resources, including books, journal articles, e-books, and more.
  • Designed to integrate seamlessly with library collections, offering users a unified search experience.

Summon Discovery Tools Pros and Cons

Pros:

  • Integrated with library resources.
  • Comprehensive and curated content.
  • Advanced search and filtering options.

Cons:

  • Requires library subscription.
  • Access limited to library holdings.

Frequently Asked Questions:

  1. Can I access full-text articles through Google Scholar?

    • Some articles are available for free, but others may require a subscription or purchase.

  2. How do I access Summon?

    • Summon is typically accessible through your institution’s library website.

  3. Is it necessary to use both tools?

    • Using both can enhance your research by providing a broader range of resources and perspectives.

Google Scholar:

  • A freely accessible web search engine that indexes scholarly articles across various disciplines and formats.
  • Provides links to articles, theses, books, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other websites.

Google Scholar: pros and Cons

Pros:

  • Free and widely accessible.
  • Broad range of scholarly articles.
  • User-friendly interface.

Cons:

  • Variable content quality.
  • Limited full-text access without subscriptions.

Tips for Effective Research

Using Both Tools Together:

  • Start with Summon for comprehensive access to library resources.
  • Use Google Scholar to find additional resources and broaden your search.
  • Check if articles found on Google Scholar are available through your library via Summon.
  • Use citation tools to manage references from both platforms.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Refilwe Phala
Contact:
Research Commons

Level 4

Library

+2712 4292894

Features Comparison

Features Summon Discovery Tool Google Scholar
Access Library subscription required Free
Content Coverage Comprehensive, library-specific Broad, but varies in depth
Search Capabilities Advanced filtering options Basic search with fewer filters
Full-Text Access Direct access to library resources Links to full text if available, may require a purchase or subscription
Citation Management Integrated with library tools Exports to citation managers like EndNote
Customization Personalized based on library holdings Personalized based on user preferences
Interlibrary Loan Integrated Not available

 

How to Access Summon from the University of South Africa Library Website

Steps to Use the Summon Discovery Tool at UNISA:

  1. Visit the UNISA Library Website:

  2. Locate the Summon Search Box:

    • On the library homepage, look for the search box labeled "Search the Library" or "Summon" prominently displayed.

  3. Log in if Necessary:

    • You may need to log in using your UNISA student credentials to access some resources. Ensure you have your student number and myUNISA password ready.

  4. Enter Your Search Terms:

    • Type your keywords, phrases, or questions into the Summon search box and press Enter or click the search icon.

  5. Refine Your Search Results:

    • Use the filters on the left-hand side of the search results page to narrow down results by content type, publication date, subject, language, and more.

  6. Access Full-Text Articles:

    • Click on the "Full Text Online" link to access articles, e-books, and other resources directly from the UNISA library’s holdings.

  7. Save and Cite Resources:

    • Use Summon’s tools to save resources to your account, export citations to citation managers, and create bibliographies.