Skip to Main Content

Summon Discovery Tool vs. Google Scholar LibGuide: Improving Research Quality: Cabells Integration with LibKey

This tap on integrating Cabells with LibKey! This tap provides insights into how this powerful combination helps researchers identify reputable journals, avoid predatory publications, and access full-text articles seamlessly.

Introduction to Cabells and LibKey

Features Cabells LibKey Nomad
Purpose

Helps researchers identify reputable journals and avoid predatory ones.

 Provides one-click access to full-text articles through integration with library subscriptions.
Key Tool Journalytics (legitimate journals) and Predatory Reports (unethical journals). Browser extension that simplifies access to articles.
Target audience Researchers seeking credible publication

Students and researchers needing quick, seamless article access.
Integration Links journal recommendations to full-text access via LibKey. Works directly with platforms like Scopus, PubMed, Summon, Google Scholar and Cabells.
Benefits Protects researchers from predatory publishing practices. Saves time by bypassing paywalls for library-subscribed content.
Access Through the UNISA Library portal. Installable browser extension (e.g., Chrome, Edge, Firefox).

 

Why Integrate Cabells and LibKey Together?

The integrating Cabells and LibKey creates a seamless research experience by:

  • Streamline Journal Selection: Use Cabells Journalytics to identify suitable journals based on subject areas, acceptance rates, and impact factors.
  • Avoid Predatory Journals: Safeguard your reputation with Predatory Reports in Cabells.
  • Simplify Access: Access full-text articles directly via LibKey Nomad links from within Cabells or other research platforms.

 

Key Takeaway:
By combining Cabells with LibKey Nomad, the UNISA community can ensure that your research is published in high-quality journals while accessing credible resources with ease.

Access to Cabells

Getting Started: Step-by-Step Guide

  1. Access to Cabell can be gained through the Unisa Library homepage Unisa Library website.

  2. Once Logged In the library homepage: enter your staff username/student number and myUnisa password.

  3. Navigate to E-Resources:

    • Once logged in, go to the "Find e-resources" section.

  4. Search for Cabells:

    • Use the search bar to look for "Cabells" or navigate through the list of available A-Z databases.

  5. Access Cabells:

  6. Authentication:

    • You may be prompted to authenticate via OpenAthens.
    • Use your Unisa credentials (student number and myUnisa password) to log in.

If you encounter any issues, you can contact the Unisa Library support team for assistance.

Install and Use LibKey Nomad

How do I install LibKey Nomad?

  1. visit libkeynomad.com and click the icon for your browser.
  2. Your browser will then ask you to confirm.  
  3. Choose your institution at the resulting LibKey interface and you are all set!

LibKey Nomad

UNISA Library

Resources Videos

please see the resources below. 

  1. Blacklist Criteria
  2. Whitelist Criteria  
  3. Cabell's Metrics

Resources

Learn about a browser extension that helps you access the full text of journal articles found outside of the library databases and how to Download LibKey Nomad: Video on introduction to LibKey