How to write a Literature Review: Gale Research Complete

Gale Research Complete provides access to the largest package of primary and secondary sources available to libraries today, empowering users at all academic levels, from the undergraduate student to the experienced researcher, and covering nearly every research area and discipline. Its innovative cross-search provides access to literature criticism, journals, magazine, news, eBooks, primary sources, company profiles, and other resources, enabling efficient research with comprehensive, single search results.

What’s inside:

• Over 28000 periodicals including 4595 titles from the JCR Impact Factor Science list
• Over 1900 eBook editions (4000 volumes) including award-winning encyclopaedias and directories
• Over 13,5 million pages of historical primary sources from the 13^th to the 21^st centuries
• Over 2 million items of literature criticism and full-text literacy

Gale Primary Sources

The Gale Primary Sources platform is an integrated research environment allowing users to search across all their primary source collections. It takes users beyond a simple search and retrieve workflow, allowing them to analyse content using frequency and term relationship tools.

At Unisa you can access dozens of multidisciplinary Gale Primary Sources archive, from colonial studies and international relations to world history and law including:

Slavery and anti-slavery: a transitional archive

Research study and discover endless teaching possibilities for understanding slavery from a multinational perspective.

Decolonization: Politics and independence in former colonial and commonwealth territories

Discover political ephemera from across the world, covering twentieth-century political parties, pressure groups and union movements.

Archives of sexuality and gender

Research a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender

Where do I find the Gale Research Complete database?

The route to the Gale Research Complete database is as follows: 

• visit the Unisa home page
• click on Library
• click on Find e-resources
• click on A - Z list of electronic resources, and then on G in A to Z alphabet.
• scroll down and click on Gale Research Complete
• you will be prompted at some stage for your student number and myUnisa password (or in the case of a Unisa staff member, for your Unisa Network username and password)
• type in your search terms in the Search window and click on the button with the magnifying glass to execute the search, OR, click on Advanced Search for more subtle search options and click on the Search button to execute the search    

You may wish to begin by clicking on the link to Video Tutorials at the top right-hand side of the page.

Yes. References (or citations) may be exported from the database to a number of Reference Management Tools by clicking on Export and selecting the appropriate reference manager.

The export function accommodates:

RefWorks (available to Unisa staff and students - see the Research Skills LibGuide for more information),

EasyBib – A free reference management tool that can be downloaded from the internet. (APA, MLA, Chicago)

NoodleTools

GoogleDrive

OneDrive

RIS* file format (The RIS* file format can be used with EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, and Zotero)

The following browsers are compatible with Gale Research Complete:

• Microsoft Edge
• Google Chrome
• Firefox
• Safari