Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Life and Consumer Sciences: Keeping up to date with your research in your discipline

This is a subject guide which provides an overview of library resources in the Unisa Library for the disciplines Life and Consumer Sciences.

Keeping up to date with your research

Doing research involves locating and accessing relevant information and data from various information and literature resources. However, conducting a literature search on the various information e-resources and databases involves two steps. The first step allows the researcher to conduct a comprehensive search on various e-resources and databases to locate and access the relevant literature for your research retrospective to present. The second step allows you to source and locate possible relevant information for your research on the various e-resources and databases by creating alert based on the current search / previous searches you have conducted. Creating alerts will ensure that the e-resource / database sends you an e-mail alerting you of new literature which is based on your alert, is published. This step is particularly helpful in eliminating the need to re-do searches regularly to see if new literature has been published that is relevant on your research.

There are generally three types of alerts available to the researcher to use and the availability of the alert depends on the functionality of the e-resource / database that you are conducting your literature search on:

  • Table of Contents (TOC) Alerts -- Receive the table of contents of the most recent issue of a specific journal(s). It is one of the best ways of keeping up to date with the latest articles, current research, and publishing trends in your field.
  • Search Alerts -- Search alerts are set up to provide automatic e-mail notification whenever new search results become available in a database (author's publication, keywords, or other search criteria). You will be able to connect to the citation, download the citation, and full text (when available) from the alert
  • Citation Alerts -- Be notified when someone cites a specific article