LibGuides: Life and Consumer Sciences: Catalytic Niche Areas

Health / Medicine

American Chemical Society ACS Journals (current and archive) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the electronic full-text versions of over 30 titles published (or co-published) by ACS. Select either "Journals and magazines" or "Search the journals" to find the list of titles available.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed open access journals in the subjects of biology and bio medicine.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Health, 2011 This link opens in a new window
Global Health (CABI Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Global Health is a public health database with more than 1.2 million records. Subject coverage includes international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, occupational health, toxicology, health services, and maternal/child health.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. It covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines specifically nursing and allied health. Topics covered include nursing administration and management, paediatric nursing, community health nursing and nursing ethics.
Informit Health Collection (Australia) This link opens in a new window
This database is a multi-disciplinary information resource for students, teachers and researchers engaged in nursing and allied health education, training and research. The Collection supports the practice of evidence-based treatment for the nursing profession and other allied health disciplines including addictions, child health, disabilities, geriatrics, health education, health informatics, health management, mental health, midwifery, public health and womens health. Coverage started from 1977 and new articles are added daily.
International Encyclopedia of Public Health, 2008 This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,600 current biomedical journals.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine
Royal Society of Chemistry E-books, 1940 to present This link opens in a new window
eBooks published by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Science-of-Synthesis: including Houben-Weyl Methods of Molecular Transformations This link opens in a new window
Science of Synthesis provides a critical review of the synthetic methodology developed from the early 1800s to-date for the entire field of organic and organometallic chemistry.
SciFinder-n (link for registered users) This link opens in a new window
SciFinder is a research discovery application that provides unlimited access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. The database enables searching for substances, reactions, and patent and journal references anytime, anywhere. Updated daily.
SciFinder-n, ChemZent, Analytical Methods & Formulas (first-time users, use this link to register) This link opens in a new window
First time users, copy and paste this link in your browser to register:
https://0-scifinder-cas-org.oasis.unisa.ac.za/registration/index.html?corpKey=3BFEC2D5-86F3-50AB-1304-ED64D2CF57C6

Natural Sciences (Biotechnological Studies)

Encyclopedia of Ecology, 2008 This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. This database contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Understand environmental issues that affect people globally through topic overviews, journals, news, and multimedia content.
GeoRef with GeoRef in Process This link opens in a new window
Geosciences, geochemistry, geophysics - journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses
Inspec This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index to the global journal and proceedings literature in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, and information technology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
The worlds largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Coverage includes more than 1.6 million bibliographic records many of which include abstracts. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and much more. Cover 1935 to present.
Nature: International Weekly of Science (1987 to present) This link opens in a new window
Nature Climate Change This link opens in a new window
Nature Protocols This link opens in a new window

Marine Studies

Bio-One Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals in biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
Cambridge Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online access to electronic journals published by Cambridge University Press. Includes access to archives to first issue of journals.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. This database contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
The worlds largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Coverage includes more than 1.6 million bibliographic records many of which include abstracts. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and much more. Cover 1935 to present.

Life and Consumer Sciences: Catalytic Niche Areas

Unisa's catalytic niche focus areas

Health / Medicine

Natural Sciences (Biotechnological Studies)

Marine Studies

Marine Open databases