LibGuides: Philosophy: Journal Articles

Quick Links

Tips

Many of the databases contains a combination of full-text and bibliographic references.

If the full-text of the article is not available from the database, make a printout of the bibliographic references and then use the E-publication finder to see if the journal that the article was published in is available in electronic format in one of our other databases.

Should the journal not be available electronically use the library catalogue to request the article.

Subject Databases

Full text articles and references to articles on particular topics may be found using the subject databases.

Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Companions Online offers subject or theme based collections of content within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment. Included is the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series, including Philosophy. Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers
De Gruyter Online Journals and E-Books (Current and Archive) This link opens in a new window
Full text online e-books and e-journals published by De Gruyter in subjects covering science, humanities, social sciences, technology, management and general interest.
EBSCOhost (All databases) This link opens in a new window
Cross-searching of all the available EBSCOhost databases
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a shared digital library covering more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Online offers full-text access to academic monographs from key disciplines, including philosophy
Philosopher's Index (1940 to present) This link opens in a new window
The Philosopher's Index is a comprehensive, bibliographic database covering worldwide research in all areas of philosophy. It is created by philosophers for philosophers.

Sources includes: journals (print and e-journal articles from more than 1600 philosophy and interdisciplinary journals); books/monographs, including encyclopedias, dictionaries and book series; anthologies; contributions to anthologies from philosophy and interdisciplinary anthologies; and book reviews.
Philosophy Documentation Center E-Collection This link opens in a new window
The Philosophy Documentation Center has been serving the scholarly community on a non-profit basis since 1966, earning a reputation for excellence with the publication of essential reference materials, peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, and research databases. PDC has a unique commitment to support teaching and research in philosophy and related fields.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly projects demand reliable content. Project MUSE is your trusted source for the highest quality books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.

Find course reading material/e-reserves

Find e-reserves (prescribed and recommended articles) for your module codes

Find course reading material

Journals

Philosophy Papers

Phronimon

Southern African Journal of Philosophy

Google scholar

Find e-Journals and e-Books

E-Publication Finder

The database gives access to e-Journals, e-Books, and Videos available through the university library. It is searchable through the Journal/Book Title or Identifier (ISSN/ISBN), by DOI or PubMed ID (PMID) Number. The database also allows browsing by Title or Subject, for an example Philosophy & Religion