Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Many of the databases contains a combination of full-text and bibliographic references.
If the full-text of the article is not available from the database, make a printout of the bibliographic references and then use 'Find e-journals' to see if the journal that the article was published in is available in electronic format in one of our other databases.
Should the journal not be available electronically use the library catalogue to request the article.
Full text articles and references to articles on particular topics may be found using the subject databases.
Academic Search Ultimate
his multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for peer-reviewed titles.
The database includes content from South African Studies, African Studies, and African HealthLine, which focuses on all aspects of health relating to Africa and other developing nations.
CINAHL Plus with Full-Text
Covers a rich collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals. Full text coverage dates back to 1981.
ISAP (Index to South African Periodicals)
ISAP is a subject index of articles in periodicals published in South Africa dating back to 1942.
JSTOR, a shared digital archive of journal titles, was created in 1995. It is not a publisher and it does not hold the copyright to any of the content it makes available. Access does not include the last three to five years of a journal title. Research articles on the JSTOR platform are largely from the social sciences and the humanities.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
Proquest Psychology Journals
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 650 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text and full text dissertations representing a range of psychology disciplines including behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial, personality, physiological, psychobiology, psychometrics and social psychology.
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
PsycEXTRA®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a bibliographic and full-text companion to the scholarly PsycINFO database.
The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
PsycTESTS serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching.
PsychiatryOnline is the world's premier database for books, journals and multimedia on psychiatry, mental health, psychology and behavioral science. The database offers authoritative, up-to-date information for psychiatrists, mental health professionals, psychiatric residents, psychologists and students.
Titles include the DSM Library, ebooks on psychiatry and psychology and peer-reviewed journals such as American Journal of Psychiatry. Also available are podcasts with interviews relating to recently published articles.
Sabinet African Journals (formerly SA ePublications)
Collection of 228 full-text electronic South African journals from various disciplines and
Sage Journals Online (Including Archive 1879 onwards)
Full text journals published by Sage Publishers covering social sciences, humanities and other diverse subject areas.
ScienceDirect (all journal and book titles)
ScienceDirect contains over 10 million full text articles and book chapters published by Elsevier Publishers. Subjects covered are: agriculture, chemistry, medicine, physics, social sciences, and life sciences.
Taylor and Francis Online Journals
This databases covers full text of social and behavioral sciences, and the humanities.
Wiley Online Library
Fulltext online journals, e-books and reference sources in agriculture, chemistry, computing, engineering, life sciences, mathematics and social & behavioral sciences published by Wiley Publishers. Includes journals published by Blackwell Publishers.