Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Many of the databases contains a combination of full-text and bibliographic references.
If the full-text of the article is not available from the database, make a printout of the bibliographic references and then use 'Find e-Journals' to see if the journal that the article was published in is available in electronic format in one of our other databases.
Should the journal not be available electronically use the library catalogue to request the article.
Full text articles and references to articles on particular topics may be found using the subject databases.
Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including language and linguistics.
EBSCOhost (All databases)
Cross-searching of all the available EBSCOhost databases
Gale Literature: Literature Resource Center
More than 850,000 full-text articles, critical essays and reviews from over 390 scholarly journals and literary magazines; in-depth biographies on more than 135,000 authors; more than 75,000 selected full-text critical essays and reviews; more than 11,000 overviews of frequently studied works; approximately 5 000 links to selected web sites and more than 2800 author portraits; no primary coverage.
Humanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities.
JSTOR is a digital archive serving the scholarly community. It offers a number of subject areas including language & literature.
Remarkable for its coverage of primary literature from the 8th Century to the 20th Century and includes 340 000 works of poetry, 6 000 works of drama, 2 250 works of prose as well as more than 180 journals; not particularly strong on secondary literature criticism; best browsed since the search interface is basic and unsophisticated.
MLA International Bibliography, 1926 to present
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors
Find biographical information on more than 149,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Sketches typically include personal information, contact information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, authors' comments, and informative essays about their lives and work.
Informit Literature and Culture Collection (Australia)
Informit Literature & Culture Collection provides access to a range of publications covering Australias literary and cultural heritage. The database includes a number of publications relevant to emerging and established writers to develop their craft and to engage with central ideas and debates around Australian literary, culture and social life. Coverage is from 1960 covering key subjects in criticism, cultural politics, fiction, literary movements, media, poetry, social movements, visual and performing arts.
African Writers Series (ProQuest One Literature)
Key texts of modern African Literature originally published by Heinemann, Collection of unique importance in the history of postcolonial writing. Includes 181 volumes of fiction, poetry,
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
Contains 250,000 poems in full text and 450,000 citations, numbers that will continually expand with each update.
Important e-journals on the Theory of Literature
Find course reading material/e-reserves