Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Many of the databases contains a combination of full-text and bibliographic references.
If the full-text of the article is not available from the database, make a printout of the bibliographic references and then use 'Find e-journals' to see if the journal that the article was published in is available in electronic format in one of our other databases.
Should the journal not be available electronically use the library catalogue to request the artice.
Find course reading material/e-reserves
Full text articles and references to articles on particular topics may be found using the subject databases.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Africa-Wide Information This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database coverage of African Studies and African HealthLink which focuses on all aspects of health relating to Africa and other developing nations.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides peer-reviewed, scientific medical information on medicine, nursing and the health care system.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
APA bibliographic database for abstracts on scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, peer-reviewed literature in behavioral sciences and mental health, including the social and behavioural aspects of HIV/AIDS.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PMC is a free full text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the US Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Sabinet African Journals (formerly SA ePublications) This link opens in a new window
The SABINET Reference Platform offers access to the full-text of al the Southern African journals covered in the SA ePublications database.
Sage Journals Online (Including Archive 1879 onwards) This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 700 journals spanning the Humanities and Social Sciences and more than 300 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
World's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Features more than 2.1 million records, some full-text, including the social and behavioural aspects of HIV/AIDS.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers core journals in sociology and social work.
Pre-determined Keyword Searches
The following are links to pre-determined keyword searches and these are self-updating. After clicking on each link, a list of articles will come up containing keywords covering the theme. Not all the articles may be relevant. Select those articles which you think may be applicable to your approach of the topic. Select the pdf option for downloading or email the pdf article to yourself.