Focus on management principles : a generic approach by 
Practising strategy : a southern African context by
There are a number of strategy books, international and local, available in the South African market. Why another one? What makes this book different?The third edition of the book features a number of new chapters, focusing on strategy implementation and change management, resource allocation and responsible leadership. It also includes a more detailed coverage of managing strategic risk. Five key approaches: It focuses on strategy implementation and not just on the thinking and analytical aspects of strategic management. ; It explores the idea that strategy is often emergent, messy and experimental, unlike other strategic management books, which unrealistically portray it as a neat, analytical and rational process ; It unpacks the recent concept that other strategists, not just senior management, influence strategic direction ; It recognises strategy as something people do rather than something an organisation possesses. Since people are building blocks of strategy, it is a cognitive and political activity ; It integrates the three domains of responsible management – sustainability, responsibility towards all stakeholders and ethics – into the strategic management process that serves to create responsible competitiveness. The third edition of the book promotes a paradigm change with regard to the overall goal of strategic management. Traditionally, the goal is the achievement of sustained competitive advantage. The world is in desperate need of responsible managers and organisations. The responsible organisation requires change to achieve responsible competitiveness. Responsible competitiveness is achievable by integrating responsible management principles and factors throughout the strategic management process, which is the approach that we adopt in this book
Derivatives by
Derivatives is the definitive guide to derivatives and derivative markets. Written by experts working with CFA Institute, this book is an authoritative reference for students and investment professionals interested in the role of derivatives within comprehensive portfolio management. General discussion of the types of derivatives and their characteristics gives way to detailed examination of each market and its contracts, including forwards, futures, options, and swaps, followed by a look at credit derivative markets and their instruments. The companion workbook (sold separately) provides problems and solutions that align with the text and allows students to test their understanding while facilitating deeper internalization of the material.
Derivatives have become essential for effective financial risk management and for creating synthetic exposure to asset classes. This book builds a conceptual framework for grasping derivative fundamentals, with systematic coverage and thorough explanations. Readers will:
Understand the different types of derivatives and their characteristics
Delve into the various markets and their associated contracts
Examine the role of derivatives in portfolio management
Learn why derivatives are increasingly fundamental to risk management
CFA Institute is the world's premier association for investment professionals, and the governing body for CFA® Program, CIPM® Program, CFA Institute ESG Investing Certificate, and Investment Foundations® Program. Those seeking a deeper understanding of the markets, mechanisms, and use of derivatives will value the level of expertise CFA Institute brings to the discussion, providing a clear, comprehensive resource for students and professionals alike. Whether used alone or in conjunction with the companion workbook, Derivatives offers a complete course in derivatives and their use in investment management
Sustainable aviation technology and operations : research and innovation perspectives by
Sustainable Aviation Engineering introduces the key technology enablers and design techniques, as well as the latest regulations and the prominent international programmes, related to the environmental impact and sustainability of aviation. It begins with describing the various pollutants and noise generated during aircraft operations, condensation trails, as well as the governing physical phenomena involved. Mathematical elaboration of the aircraft dynamics and trajectory modelling is included and the mathematical formulation of typical business related aspects is introduced, derived from the operational cost breakdown analysis and including the charges associated to airline flights. Impacts related to the manufacturing and disposal of aircraft and equipment are discussed and innovative aircraft technologies and systems being developed to address the environmental impacts will also be covered. Sustainable Aviation Engineering considers the multi-objective trajectory optimisation problem and provides a set of solution methods for both offline strategic tasks and online tactical real-time implementations. Relevant multi-disciplinary design optimisation methods are described, together with innovative problem resolution techniques. A number of case studies are also included, addressing aircraft design, systems design and mission optimisation for environmentally sustainable aviation
Introduction to Politics by
Combining theory, comparative politics, and international relations ntroduction to Politics 5e, provides a comprehensive introduction to the subject for first year undergraduate students. As the only introductory text to cover both comparative politics and international relations, it is the most authoritative and global introductory politics textbook on the market.Written by three experts in the field, this book takes a balanced approach to the subject, serving as a strong foundation for further study. Assuming no prior knowledge, the authors use an accessible yet analytical approach which encourages critical analysis and debate, helping students to develop the skills that will be vital to their future studies and employment.The new edition has been fully updated with additional up-to-date case studies and examples to help students relate their studies to real-world events. The fifth edition includes coverage of the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic on global politics; provides an overview of Russia's imperial history, and the political economy of sanctions; a new section on decolonising political thinking; and additional examples from Non-Western settings throughout the text. This ensures that ntroduction to Politics 5e is the most comprehensive, global, and essential guide for students new to the study of Politics.The fifth edition includes a wealth of embedded digital resources, which are accessible through the enhanced e-book. These include: - Multiple-choice questions for every section, designed to reinforce your understanding of key points through frequent and cumulative revision, and to assist with independent self-study- Political scenarios which encourage you to apply your learning to a practical case to see how the content of the text can be reflected in real life.- A library of web links to relevant blogs, debates, and videos, to help explore your research interests and take your learning further- Videos of news reports, speeches, analysis, and key events help bring theories and concepts to life, exploring issues such as 'are Western values still relevant?' and 'Will China Become the Centre of the World Economy?'- An interactive flashcard glossary to test your knowledge and understanding of each chapter's key termsTeaching resources for adopting lecturers include:- Customisable PowerPoint slides that can be adapted for use in lectures - Discussion questions that lecturers can use to engage their students, based on the content of each chapter- A bank of questions for lecturers to use to test students' understanding of key concepts covered in the chapters