Critical Information Literacy: Articles

Request an article

Directory of Open Access Journals

Sabinet Open Access Journals

Journal Citation Reports

 Full text articles and references to articles on particular topics may be found using the subject databases.  Possible keywords and keyword combinations may be:

• Academic integrity
• plagiarism
• Copyright
• Creative Commons

 Please see the box above Pre-determined keyword searches for further ideas on keyword combinations.

The following are links to selected fulltext articles covering various aspects of ethical use of information and copyright in the digital age.

It is a useful point of departure to get started on researching the topic.  When the details of the article opens, please select the pdf to download.

 The following are links to pre-determined keyword searches and these are self-updating.  After clicking on each link, a list of articles will come up containing keywords covering the theme.  Not all the articles may be relevant.  Select those articles which you think are applicable to your approach to the topic.  Select the pdf option for downloading or email the pdf article to yourself  the email function.  When emailing, please ensure that the box next to “pdf as a separate attachment” is √

These links are from the Ebsco database collection.  Use similar keyword combinations to search the other databases. 

If you have a specific reference and only want to find the full-text article it is better to make use of the E-journal Finder. 

Steps:

• Click on E-journal Finder
• Type the journal's title of the reference that you have into the textbox provided to start the search.
• The system will search in all the library's e-resources for the specific journal title and will also provide the years of e-coverage available.
• Select the database where the year of publication of the article that you require is included.
• The link will take you to the table of contents of the journal where you can make use of the year, volume and issue information of the reference to navigate to the full-text article.

Google Scholar is useful for a quick overview of what has been written on a topic.  For best results use the advanced search option and use keyword combinations or phrases.   

Google Scholar is best used in conjunction with the Unisa Library's e-Journal Finder

For example, where you are prompted to submit payment for an article.

See the box  "Find the full-text journal article" on this page.

Many of the databases contains a combination of full-text and bibliographic references.

If the full-text of the article is not available from the database, make a printout of the bibliographic references and then use 'Find e-journals' to see if the journal that the article was published in is available in electronic format in one of our other databases.

Should the journal not be available electronically use the library catalogue to request the artice.