Struggling to find academic material for your assignment, research proposal, or thesis?The Library can help with a literature search—a systematic and comprehensive search for published academic resources on your topic.
How to request a literature search:
Complete our online form or use the Unisa Student App (available on the Android Play Store and iStore). In the app, go to Library and select Literature Search Form.
Current awareness is the term used to describe staying informed by keeping up to date with the latest publications, research and news in your field.
The perspective of current awareness is the present and the forthcoming, as opposed to the retrospective.
Current awareness ranges from looking for information on specific topics on a regular basis (and this usually involves the assistance of your Personal Librarian to help you set up a search profile matched to your research interests) to embracing a wider, more general, and cross-disciplinary view that brings an element of serendipity into your search for the latest information.
Informally, researchers remain alert in all contexts for useful information and insights that will inform their daily practice, their research, and spark off innovative and creative ideas for new avenues of research.
What is now Blind SA originally started on 26 October 1946 as the South African Blind Worker’s Organisation with the main purpose of helping people with blindliness find meaningful careers. The organization attained its new name as BlindSA in 2004. While the primary goal of its establishment remains the same, as Blind SA we have grown over the years to provide so much more. Placing our first blind person in their new job, establishing Braille Services, awarding our first bursary, creating a skills development service, successfully lobbying and taking on any matter that concerns the blind.
BlindSA equip blind people with the skills they need to fully and independently participate in society. This includes support in living without assistance, getting about, using technology, reading, working and socialising. All this is made possible through advocacy.
The Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database includes the renowned Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic Abstracts, and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources studying the critical issues affecting Earth’s air, land, and water environments.
The following sites on Unisa Open contains useful information for Unisa staff.
The year is marked with many special days, weeks, and months dedicated and devoted to raising awareness about important issues.
This monthly post, compiled by the Information Search Librarians Team, will note special dates and themes, and draw your attention to possibly interesting cross-disciplinary topical references intended to inform and to inspire ideas for research.
The university has identified ten (10) catalytic niches that will assist the institution in catalysing research, innovation and engaged scholarship These are as follows:
Click on the links below for information on Marine studies.
marine protection and ''south africa''
Conference Proceeding on Marine
Google Scholar on “Marine studies” + ''Global Trends''
Latin American ReportVol. 34, No. 1, pp 1-2001 January 2018
https://doi.org/10.25159/0256-6060/4723
Abstract
The role of G20 and its impact on African and global policies have always been up for debate. Over the years since the establishment of the G20, policies ranging from climate change, financial flows and sustainable development have increasingly featured ...
South African Journal of Childhood EducationVol. 9, No. 1, pp 1-1101 January 2019
https://doi.org/10.4102/sajce.v9i1.651
Abstract
Background: Teaching reading skills is the cornerstone of all learning; therefore, teachers’ adherence to this mandate is important. However, it becomes complicated and challenging if the teacher has to teach pre-reading skills to Grade R learners with ...
In line with UNISA’s Strategy, the mission of ARCSWiD is to create an enabling teaching, learning, research, and student engagement environment that will lead to the full participation and equalisation of opportunities for students with disabilities by:
We currently have two focus areas and these are:
If you are looking for forthcoming conferences, the following websites are helpful: