Need sources for your literature review? Struggling to find sources for your assignment, research proposal or thesis?
The Library can assist with a literature search, which is a systematic and comprehensive search for published, academic material on your specific subject/topic. How do you request one? Simply go to Request a literature search .
If you are experiencing problems accessing the form, please use this link.
Current awareness is the term used to describe staying informed by keeping up to date with the latest publications, research and news in your field.
The perspective of current awareness is the present and the forthcoming, as opposed to the retrospective.
Current awareness ranges from looking for information on specific topics on a regular basis (and this usually involves the assistance of your Personal Librarian to help you set up a search profile matched to your research interests) to embracing a wider, more general, and cross-disciplinary view that brings an element of serendipity into your search for the latest information.
Informally, researchers remain alert in all contexts for useful information and insights that will inform their daily practice, their research, and spark off innovative and creative ideas for new avenues of research.
National Institute for the Deaf
The Resource Hub at the NID website offers a range of free DIY videos, information videos, storybooks in South African Sign Language (SASL), digital interactive educational books, awareness material, posters and access to fee-based resources such as the SASL Dictionary and an online learner driver’s K-53 learner’s license manual, among other useful resources.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
One of the most trusted reference works in international law is the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, as well as the recently launched Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law. The two Encyclopedias can be searched and browsed together, or separately by using appropriate filters. This database also offers access to Oxford Historical Treaties, Oxford International Organizations, Oxford Reports on International Law, Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law and the Oxford Encyclopedia of EU Law.
The following sites on Unisa Open contains useful information for Unisa staff.
The year is marked with many special days, weeks, and months dedicated and devoted to raising awareness about important issues.
This monthly post, compiled by the Information Search Librarians Team, will note special dates and themes, and draw your attention to possibly interesting cross-disciplinary topical references intended to inform and to inspire ideas for research.
5 Sept United Nations International Day of Charity
7 Sept United Nations International Day of Police Cooperation
8 Sept United Nations International Literacy Day
9 Sept United Nations International Day to Protect Education from Attack
12 Sept United Nations Day for South-South Cooperation
15 Sept United Nations International Day of Democracy
16 Sept United Nations International Day for the Preservation of the Ozone Layer
17 Sept WHO World Patient Safety Day
18 Sept United Nations International Equal Pay Day
21 Sept United Nations International Day of Peace
23 Sept United Nations Day of Sign Languages and President Cyril Ramaphosa to enact Sign Language as 12th official language
24 Sept South Africa: Heritage Day
26 Sept United Nations International Day for the Total Elimination of Nuclear Weapons
27 Sept United Nations World Tourism Day
Meskell, Lynn. (2012). The nature of heritage: the new South Africa. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell. PRETORIA OPEN COLLECTION 306.0968 MESK
"The Nature of Heritage: The New South Africa is unique in revealing the conflicts inherent in preserving both natural and cultural heritage, by examining the archaeological, ethnographic and economic evidence of a nation's attempts to master its past and its future.
If you are looking for forthcoming conferences, the following websites are helpful: