LibGuides: Information Science: Articles

Quick Links

Tips

Many of the databases contains a combination of full-text and bibliographic references.

If the full-text of the article is not available from the database, make a printout of the bibliographic references and then use 'Find e-journals' to see if the journal that the article was published in is available in electronic format in one of our other databases.

Should the journal not be available electronically use the library catalogue to request the article.

Google Scholar

Find e-Reserves

Subject Databases

Full text articles and references to articles on particular topics may be found using the subject databases.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
e-LiS: e-prints in library & information science This link opens in a new window
E-LIS is an international Open Archive for Library and Information Science.
Emerald Journals This link opens in a new window
Emerald is a global publisher linking research and practice to the benefit of society. The company manages a portfolio of more than 290 journals and over 2,000 books and book series volumes, as well as providing an extensive range of online products and additional customer resources and services.
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA) This link opens in a new window
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Library and Information Science Collection This link opens in a new window
LISA: Library and Information Science Abstracts is an international abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists.
Library and Information Science Source This link opens in a new window
Library & Information Science Source was developed to meet the needs of librarians, information professional and students. Subject coverage encompasses librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Sabinet African Journals This link opens in a new window
Covers full-text articles from South African journals since 2001.
Web of Science Core Collection (all citation indexes) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection gives you access objective content and powerful tools to search, track, measure and collaborate in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. This multidisciplinary research platform lets users search numerous databases simultaneously via one interface

E-publication finder

Search for the electronic format of journal titles by using the e-publication finder

Click on the e-publication finder
Type the journal title in the text box
Select the appropriate publisher's link
Select the required year, volume and issue
Select the required article from the table of contents

Click on the PDF icon for the full=-text

Important e-journals for Information Science

Journal Impact Factors

Use these databases to find the top journals in your discipline, to compare journal titles and to find a journal in which to publish your article.

Journal Guide
JournalGuide brings all sources of data together in one place to give authors a simple way to choose the best journal for their research.

Cabell's Journalytics Academic This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of over 600 journals titles as a source for journal information, evaluation metrics and submission details. Contains a listing of journals across 18 academic disciplines to determine reputable and quality journals.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
A tool for evaluating journals using citation data.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Using citations from Elsevier’s collection of peer-reviewed journals in the health sciences, life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences and humanities, the Scopus Journal Analyzer lets you compare up to 10 journals simultaneously from 1996. Journals can be analyzed on a variety of factors including SNIP, SJR and number of citations. Search results display graphically and are updated every two months.