LibGuides: Information Science: Reference Sources

Quick Links

Print resources on the reference shelves have to be consulted in the library.

Copies of chapters or entries can be made in the photocopy section on level 4 of the library.

Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences
Designed to cover a spectrum of related information disciplines, including:
Archival Science, Bibliography, Document and Genre Theory, Informatics, Information Systems, Knowledge Management, Library and Information Science,
Museum Studies, Records Management & Social Studies of Information.
Dictionary of Library & Information Management
Designed to equip the trainee librarian or information management student with core industry terminology, includes over 5,000 terms connected with information management, classification, cataloguing and electronic knowledge management.
IFLA World Report
The World Report series is a biennial report series that reports on the state of the world in terms of freedom of access to information, freedom of expresion and related issues.
Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science (ODLIS)
The dictionary is the most comprehensive and reliable English-language resource for terminology used in all types of libraries.

RDA Toolkit This link opens in a new window
RDA: Resource Description and Access is a package of data elements, guidelines, and instructions for creating library and cultural heritage resource metadata that are well-formed according to international models for user-focused linked data applications.
Sear's List of Subject Headings Online This link opens in a new window
Sear's List of Subject Headings is an index suggesting subject headings for use in catalogues and library indexes.
WebDewey This link opens in a new window
Database for Dept of Information Science students only. Username and password obtainable from department.
WebDewey is the electronic version of the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) system. It is a full representation of all published numbers, plus other mappings and new terms that have been approved by the Dewey Editorial Policy Committee (EPC).