LibGuides: Linguistics and Modern Languages: Articles

Quick Links

Tips

Many of the databases contains a combination of full-text and bibliographic references.

If the full-text of the article is not available from the database, make a printout of the bibliographic references and then use Find e-journals to see if the journal that the article was published in is available in electronic format in one of our other databases.

Should the journal not be available electronically use the Library catalogue to request the article.

Subject Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital archive serving the scholarly community. It offers a number of subject areas including language & literature.
Linguistics collection with LLBA This link opens in a new window
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Sabinet African Journals This link opens in a new window
Covers full-text articles from South African journals since 2001.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including language and linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography, 1926 to present This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907 - 1984 This link opens in a new window
This database offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.

Important e-journals for Linguistics

E-Journals

Search for the electronic format of journal titles by using the E-Journal Finder

Click on the E-Journal Finder link
Type the journal title in the text box
Select the appropriate publisher’s link
Select the required year, volume and issue
Select the required article from the table of contents

Click on the pdf icon for the full-text

Find course reading material/e-reserves

Find e-reserves (prescribed and recommended articles) for your module codes

Find e-reserves

Linguistics and Modern Languages: Articles