LibGuides: Linguistics: Reference Sources

Reference Sources Portuguese

Print resources on the reference shelves have to be consulted in the library.

Copies of chapters or entries can be made in the photocopy section on level 4 of the library.

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics
The ELL is the first encyclopedia to really exploit the multimedia potential of linguistics. It is the most authoritative, up-to-date, comprehensive, and international reference source in its field.

Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics, 2nd ed. (2012) This link opens in a new window
This ground-breaking reference work is a comprehensive resource covering the highly diverse field of applied linguistics.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words from across the English-speaking world.

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
The innovative Oxford Language Dictionaries Online site offers essential language resources never before available online: fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages.
Oxford Reference
Oxford Reference is a home of Oxford's quality reference publishing in various subject areas including language and linguistics references.

Unisa Multilingual Proverbs Dictionary This link opens in a new window
A proverbs dictionary of a collection of 200+ common equivalent proverbs updated and compiled from existing Sepedi, Xitsonga, Tshivenda, and English proverbs.