Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Print resources on the reference shelves have to be consulted in the library.
Copies of chapters or entries can be made in the photocopy section on level 4 of the library.
E-Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Access these e-Resources online
Use the E-Reference Sources to find definitions and descriptions about aspects of the Nursing Research Process, e.g. Qualitative Research.
International Encyclopedia of Public Health, 2008 This link opens in a new window
An authoritative and comprehensive guide to the major issues, challenges, methods, and approaches of global public health. A significant percentage of the articles will cover public health aspects of diseases and conditions. Other articles will survey aging, diet, injuries, ethical and legal subjects in public health, measurement and modeling, consumerism, anthropology and sociology, economics, the history of public health, and global issues.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2001 This link opens in a new window
This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioural sciences on a grand scale.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The OED is widely regarded as the accepted authority on English language
Sage Knowledge: all Sage ebooks, reference and handbooks titles This link opens in a new window
Browse the Social Sciences eBook platform to find an expansive range of Sage eBook and eReference content on all aspects of research methodology.
Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find electronic full-text on research methods
South African Institute of Race Relations This link opens in a new window
Use this link for the latest statistical information and trends on South African material.
Print Reference Sources
These Reference Sources are available in print and may be consulted in the Main Library.