Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
The JCR provides journal intelligence that highlights the value and contribution of a journal through a rich array of transparent data, metrics and analysis. This analysis tool summarizes citations from the journals, books, and proceedings in the Web of Science Core Collection, which is a painstakingly selected, actively curated database of the sources that have been judged to be the most important and useful in their fields.
Many of the subject databases contain a combination of full-text and bibliographic references.
If the full-text of the article is not available from the database, make a note of the bibliographic reference and use 'Find e-journals' to see if the journal in which the article was published is available in electronic format in another database.
Should the journal not be available electronically use the library catalogue to request the artice.
Full-text articles and references to articles on particular topics may be found using the subject databases.
Collection of 228 full-text electronic South African journals from various disciplines
A+ Education (Australia) This link opens in a new window
Created in partnership with the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER) this database contains in-depth coverage of the learning, teaching and management issues facing all teaching professionals including higher education
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection includes academic periodicals, books and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
ERIC provides access to education literature and resources.
LearnTechLib Library This link opens in a new window
The EdITLib Digital Library is an online resource of peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.
Use the E-Journal Finder to search the library's electronic journals collection
- Click on the E-Journal Finder link above
- Type the title of your journal in the text box
- Select the appropriate publisher’s link
- Select the required year, volume and issue
- Select the required article from the table of contents
- Click on the PDF icon for the full text
Journal Impact Factors
Use these databases to find the top journals in your discipline, to compare journal titles and to find a journal in which to publish your article.
JournalGuide brings all sources of data together in one place to give authors a simple way to choose the best journal for their research.
Cabell's Journalytics and predatory reports on journals
A searchable database of over 600 journals evaluated and listed with a summary that contains the basic information necessary in identifying a blacklisted journal. This includes the title of the journal, its publisher, any claimed ISSNs, geographic location, website, open access and launch date.
Also contains a listing of journals across 18 academic disciplines to determine reputable and quality journals.
Journal Citation Reports
A tool for evaluating journals using citation data.
Using citations from Elsevier’s collection of peer-reviewed journals in the health sciences, life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences and humanities, the Scopus Journal Analyzer lets you compare up to 10 journals simultaneously from 1996. Journals can be analyzed on a variety of factors including SNIP, SJR and number of citations. Search results display graphically and are updated every two months.