Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search these databases for South African newspaper articles according to subjects.
Access South Africa: local, regional and national SA newspapers This link opens in a new window
Complete full-text content of local, regional, and national South African newspapers. It covers community events, education, sports, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
How to use Access South Africa
Access South Africa allows you to track issues, find information on people and events, and look for articles that contain a certain keyword or phrase. Learn how to search and locate different types of news content, including videos, transcripts, and online-only content. Published Nov 2014
SA Media News Clippings This link opens in a new window
SA Media is a comprehensive press cutting service offering access to a database consisting of more than 3 million South African newspaper reports and periodical articles which have been indexed online since 1978.
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2016 This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers the complete searchable run of one of the world’s most authoritative daily business newspapers. Every item printed in the paper, from 1888-2009, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Guardian (1821-2003) and Observer (1791-2003) Archives This link opens in a new window
These historical newspapers provide genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source. Coverage from 1785-2009.
African Newspapers, 1800 - 1922 from World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published between 1800 and 1922 featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. Languages include English, German, French, Portuguese, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Sotho, and others.