LibGuides: Compliance and Risk Management: Newspapers

Quick Links

Tips

Newspapers are available in the Newspaper Reading area on level 4 of the Main Library

The following newspapers are available on microfilm in the Audio-visual Collection on level 4 of the Main Library:

Argus (Cape)
Beeld
Burger
Cape Times
Natal Mercury
New Nation
Pretoria News
Star

Contact number : +27 12 429-3209

South African

Search South African news articles according to subjects

Access World News: Global - local, regional and national SA newspapers This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection covers newspapers at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Consists of more than five million cross-searchable pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries covering slave trade history. The archive is not just valuable to researchers in African history, but the wider scope of African studies and African-American studies, making it an unprecedented collection developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, it offers never-before-available research opportunities and endless teaching possibilities.
SA Media News Clippings This link opens in a new window
A news clipping services collection comprising over 4,5 million articles. With an average of 2500 new articles added weekly, SA Media (News Clippings) is a comprehensive research tool that allows you to search local mainstream publications.

S.A. Media is one of the most comprehensive press cutting services offering you access to a database consisting of more than 3 million newspaper reports and periodical articles which have been indexed on computer since 1978.

International

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided

Times Digital Archive, 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2014. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.

First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
Coverage from 1785-2007