Contains 21 different versions of the English Bible. Includes 12 complete Bibles, 5 New Testament works, 2 Gospel works and William Tyndale's New Testament, Pentateuch and Jonah translations.
Reference work offers an accessible coverage of medieval European history and culture, c. 500-c. 1500, in a series of themed articles, taking an interdisciplinary and comparative approach.
This title addresses religion in a richly illustrated multi-media reference source on the various forms of religious commitment. It addresses the different theologies and doctrinal declarations of official institutionalized religions.
The Encyclopedia focuses on the history of early Christian texts, authors, ideas. Its content is intended to bridge the gap between the fields of New Testament studies and patristics, covering the whole period of early Christianity up to 600 CE. The BEEC aims to provide a critical review of the methods used in Early Christian Studies and to update the historiography.
Standard reference work that covers the ancient world from the 2nd millennium BC to 600-800 BC. English version of the standard German edition: Der Neue Pauly (1996). Includes supplements.
The Context of Scripture Online illuminatingly presents the multi-faceted world of ancient writing that forms the colorful background to the literature of the Hebrew Bible.
Designed as a thorough and enduring reference work for all engaged in the study of the Bible and the ancient Near East, it provides reliable access to a broad, balanced, and representative collection of Ancient Near Eastern texts that have an impact on the interpretation of the Bible. Each entry includes an introduction to the text, an authoritative translation, commentary, and bibliographic references.
The online version is based on the substantial three-volume work and was updated with the fourth volume, which was published in 2016.
Coptic Gnostic Library Online is the only authoritative edition of many of the Coptic writings of the Gnostics from the first centuries AD. It was originally published by Brill in fourteen hardback volumes as part of the Nag Hammadi (and Manichaean) Studies series between 1975 and 1995, under the general editorship of James M. Robinson.
Coptic Gnostic Library Online contains all the texts of the Nag Hammadi codices, both in the original Coptic and in translation. Each text has its own introduction. Coptic Gnostic Library Online is the starting point for all research into ancient Gnosticism. It is the result of decades of dedicated research by the most distinguished international scholars in this field.
Describes modern-day Christian beliefs and communities in the context of 2000 years of apostolic tradition and Christian history.Based on the third, revised edition of the critically acclaimed German work Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon.
Offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day.
Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR) is intended to serve as a comprehensive guide to the current state of knowledge on the background, origins, and development of the canonical texts of the Bible as they were accepted in Judaism and Christianity. Unprecedented in breadth and scope, this encyclopedia also documents the history of the Bible's interpretation and reception across the centuries, not only in Judaism and Christianity, but also in literature, visual art, music, film, and dance, as well as in Islam and other religious traditions and new religious movements.
Jacoby Online is a digital edition of fragments and testimonia of Greek historians, and other authors from antiquity. New edition of the 856 fragmentary historians that comprise F. Jacobys monumental Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker Parts I-III, with significant additions.
English translation of the definitive Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart (RGG), 4th, 1908. Covers religions worldwide including its history, archaeology, liturgy, law, bible, music, politics, social sciences, natural sciences, ethics, and philosophy.
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum (SEG) is an annual publication collecting newly published Greek inscriptions and studies on previously known documents. Material later than the 8th century A.D. is not included.
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents. Inscriptions are listed by their provenance, e.g. Dodona or Abdera. These place names are grouped into regions, such as Attica or Illyria. In the SEG Online, in order to keep lists and loading times short, these regions are grouped into several larger areas: 1. Greece 2. North 3. Aegean 4. West 5. Asia Minor 6. East
Includes information on 9,000 Christian denominations and religions from every country in the world, including religious activities, growth rates, literature, demographic statistics. Also a chronology of Christianity from the 1st to 21st centuries.
The Encyclopedia of Ancient History is the only comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship available on the entire ancient Mediterranean world, with over 5,700 original entries published since November 2012.
