Struggling to find academic material for your assignment, research proposal, or thesis?The Library can help with a literature search—a systematic and comprehensive search for published academic resources on your topic.
How to request a literature search:
Complete our online form or use the Unisa Student App (available on the Android Play Store and iStore). In the app, go to Library and select Literature Search Form.
Journal alerts are a simple way to stay on top of new research in your field.
By subscribing, you’ll receive the table of contents for newly published journal issues straight to your inbox—weekly, monthly, or quarterly, depending on the journal’s publication schedule. This helps you stay informed and apply the latest findings to your work.
Different journal platforms may use terms like “alerts,” “email alerts,” or “e-alerts,” but the process to register is similar.
Setting up a journal alert usually involves:
For an even easier way to browse and track scholarly journals, consider using the BrowZine app, which organizes journals in a user-friendly format.
JournalTOCs is a Current Awareness Service (CAS) where you can discover the newest papers coming directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online.
JournalTOCs is for researchers, librarians, students and anyone who's looking for the latest or most current papers published in the scholarly literature with international coverage.
JournalTOCs is a free service for individual users.
JournalTOCs *Premium* is a customised version for institutions, available at very economic licence rates. It is a current awareness alert system built with the customers in mind because their feedback is what steers its continuous development.
JournalTOCs *Premium* is being used by large and small research centres and libraries worldwide. It has many features, including an admin interface (super-user account) to ensure that each customised version exactly matches the needs of each customer.
EbscoHost is a multidisciplinary database platform
ScienceDirect is a multidisiplinary database that contain full text books and journals published by Elsevier
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings
ProQuest is a multidisciplinary database platform
The Current Contents Connect database indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities
Taylor and Francis is a multidisciplinary, publisher database
Sabinet African Journals is a multidisciplinary, African journals platform