Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SAGE Research Methods Online is a database designed to support the research activities of both the novice and the seasoned researcher with the set of research tools common to all disciplines. The database brings together peer-reviewed full-text books, journal articles, handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopaedias and videos published by SAGE on:
- basic and advanced statistics,
- qualitative and quantitative research methods,
- the literature review,
- research design,
- writing up your research,
- writing about research, and much more.
It is a useful resource for both the researcher or supervisor of research, or for the teacher of research methods.
Sage Research Methods
Where do I find the Sage Research Methods database?
The route to the SAGE Research Methods Online database is as follows:
- visit the Unisa home page
- click on Library
- click on Find e-resources
- click on A - Z list of electronic resources, and then on s in a to z alphabet across the top of the page
- scroll down and click on Sage Research Methods
- you will be prompted at some stage for your student number and myUnisa password (or in the case of a Unisa staff member, for your Unisa Network username and password)
- type in your search terms in the Search: window and click on the button with the magnifying glass to execute the search, OR, click on Advanced Search for more subtle search options and click on the Search button to execute the search
You may wish to begin by clicking on the link to Tutorials or Help at the top left-hand side of the page.
Can the references/ citations I find be exported to a Reference Management Tool?
Yes. References (or citations) may be exported from the database to a number of Reference Management Tools by clicking on Export citation and selecting the appropriate reference manager from the pull-down menu.
The export function accommodates:
- RefWorks (available to Unisa staff and students - see the Research Skills LibGuide for more information),
- Reference Manager,
- Zotero, and
The following Browsers are comptaible with SAGE Research Methods Online:
- Internet Explorer 8
- Google Chrome (current version)
- Firefox (current version)
- Safari (current version)
Videos on different aspects of research
Click here to find videos explaining different aspects of the research process.
Click here for a list of results on a search done on the Sage Research Methods database